Embracing Everything Emma

Enjoying Life One Baby Step at a Time…

Meet Emma Grayce June 1, 2012

Filed under: Embracing Everything Family — erinnlinkous @ 6:00 am

Emma Grayce Linkous  was born on Wednesday, August 24th, 2011, at 11:23pm. She weighed 6 pounds, .06 ounces and was 19 inches long. The first time I heard her cry, I knew my life would never be the same. When she looked into my eyes, I knew she had stolen my heart. She filled a hole in my heart I didn’t even know was there. Through her life, I have begun to understand the unconditional love Christ has for me. I would do anything for Emma and I wouldn’t give it a second thought. I have had boogers and poop all over me. I have been spit up on more times than I can count. I have listened to her cry and woke up at all times of the night. I have also seen her smile for the first time. I have heard her laugh out loud at things I do that to others would not be funny at all. I have had her lay her head on me to sleep when she couldn’t sleep any other way. I have had her wrap her arms around me for comfort. I have had cry out in delight at seeing me when I walk into a room. I have experienced her saying “mom” and there’s no sweeter thing to hear. There is much, much more GOOD that outweighs anything bad. I wouldn’t trade her for anything. I can’t ever imagine life without her. Why didn’t I become a mommy sooner? Emma has truly become the lights of our lives. And what do I wish to teach my little girl through something as simple as dressing her?

  1. That God created her. He loves her and cares for her. He provides for her. He sent His son to die on the cross for her. And because of all this- we dress in a way that honors Him. It’s one of the small things we can do to say, “thank you” for the sacrifice He has made for us.
  2. That WE love her. We provide for her and her needs. We also want to give her some, but not all, of her wants. We will place her before ourselves in most situations (except when it’s bettering our marriage and relationship with God, which in return, keeps her first). When we’re without, we will do our best to make sure she IS. When we provide her with clothes that are just as nice as brand new but at a cheaper cost, it keeps her in style but also frees up funds for the things she really needs- which shows how much we love her.
  3. That she is preparing herself for her future mate. We plan to teach her how to dress in a way that honors God, herself, and her future spouse. It’s so important that we start young having her in clothes that fit (not showing her belly, bottom, etc) as to not teach her that it’s ok later in life. It’s never too young to start! When she honors her body, she will seek a man that honors her body, and a man who loves her as Christ loved the church.

I know some people may read this and think I’m crazy, and maybe I am. But I think it’s important to teach Emma these things in everything we do- even in the small things like what she wears. I pray that through this small example we can teach about things that are much greater.

What things do you want your child to learn through you?

 

One Response to “Meet Emma Grayce”

  1. […] August 24th, 2012, I not only celebrated the birthday of my wonderful little girl, Emma Grayce, but I also celebrated my one year anniversary of giving my child breast milk. This was a huge deal […]


Leave a Reply

