Embracing Everything Emma

Enjoying Life One Baby Step at a Time…

In the Blink of An Eye June 20, 2012

Filed under: Embracing Everything Family — erinnlinkous @ 6:00 am

I never realized what the blink of an eye was until we had Emma. She grows so quick every day and I can’t believe how much older she’s getting- it seems to be going by way too fast and I can’t figure out how to slow it down. If I do, I’ll be sure to let you all know. Since I have no method that works at this point, my only other option is to document her life as best as I can and I’ve chose to go this route in the form of family pictures. Before you knock it and tell me all the reasons you can’t do it, let me break a few common myths:


#1- We don’t have the money- Now call me silly, but I’m pretty sure not all photos are going to cost you $1.5 million and with some shopping around and bargain hunting, you should be able to find a good deal. Normally stores like Sears, JC Pennys, and Target take photos and offer pretty good deals. There are often coupons available that make them a great price. We are blessed with several family/friends that are amazing photographers and use Emma’s work for their websites/portfolios. We get pictures and they get experience. What a wonderful deal!

#2- It won’t be fun- well if you become a whinny pants of course it won’t be fun. The idea is to come up with some FUN ideas on how to take pictures. I once saw some pictures of a friend who took their family to a water display and they took their pictures running through it. Talk about fun! I can’t imagine any kid (or any adult with a child-like heart & imagination) saying NO to that idea. Plus it captures a moment you’ll never be able to do again.

#3- We don’t have time- JR and I are the living definition of busy. If we can do it, you can, too! Sometimes this means you have to sacrifice watching the game on tv and going out shopping for new make up, but at the end of the day catching these memories are way more important. Also, work alongside a photographer that works with your schedule. If you can only do from 5-7, make sure he/she can fit that into their schedule and get as many shots as you can. One blurry one is better than none at all!

#4- My child won’t cooperate- Pish posh. That’s part of the experience. My brother didn’t take a good photo until he was later on in elementary school. Did my mom stop taking pictures? Nope. We don’t regret any of the family pictures we have- even the crazy screaming, yelling ones. And also remember to be patient with your little one. They don’t know everything that goes on and the fact that they haven’t torn down the whole house is a good start.

The most important thing, despite everything above, is that your kids will be grown one day. What memories you have from it is more important that how much you clean or how good your food tasted. Photo credit to my amazing cousin, Kelly Harris. Check her out at www.kellyharrisphoto.blogspot.com.

What hang ups keep you or have kept you from making documented family moments together? What’s the best way you’ve found to remember your kid’s childhood?

 

Leave a Reply

