Embracing Everything Emma

Enjoying Life One Baby Step at a Time…

When I Grow Up August 1, 2012

Filed under: Embracing Everything Mommy — erinnlinkous @ 6:00 am

Let me start by saying just because you’re grown up, it doesn’t mean you’re officially “grown up”. My awesome husband would be a great example. He’s 32 29 and still has the heart of a kid. We were hanging out at a Christmas party one year and he was playing with one of our friends kids and got up to go get his food. When the little boy came back and JR had disappeared, he threw his hands up in the air and asked, “where’d all the kids go?” Case and point. My husband is a goober but my goober. I love him more than words can say. And he is a model to me of how you’re only as old as you feel.

Anyways, I began thinking about all the things I still wanted to do in life and the women I look up to in these areas. I wanted to take a moment to write a tribute to them and what it is that makes me look up to them so much. With that said, here is my post of what I want to be when I grow up:

*An awesome wife & mother- My mom is such a great example of this. She has always been a role model for me, even when I was 13 and pretending like I was too cool for her and any advice she had to share. I look back at my childhood and wonder how in the world I will be able to accomplish everything she did for Erick and me. It will be surely impossible but I plan to try with everything in me. My parents gave us a wonderful childhood and loved us completely. We were very blessed kids. I can’t tell you how many times my mom would drop what she was doing just to play barbies with me or to listen to things going on in my life. She still does that today. Well, minus the Barbie part. My friend, Darlene, told me this when I first had Emma and was panicked about my house being a mess. It really reminds me of what my momma always did for us. It’s part of a poem and I have no idea who wrote it,

The cleaning and scrubbing will wait till tomorrow, for children grow up, as I’ve learned to my sorrow. So quiet down, cobwebs. Dust go to sleep. I’m rocking my baby and babies don’t keep.

*A caring best friend- my best friend, Deborah, has been the best friend anyone could ask for, EVER. Deborah has been my mentor for over 13 years and somewhere in the midst of that, we became best friends. She was my matron of honor in my wedding. She is the godmother to our daughter. Her family IS family to us. We have watched their kids grow up, Tyler from preschool and Nicole from birth. It’s crazy to  look and see what an impact they have had on our lives and the sacrifices they have made for us. When JR asked me to marry him, he asked for permission from my dad. And then he asked for Deborah’s blessings. Deborah has not only been a friend who loves me, but also a friend who holds me accountable, a friend who tells me the truth when it’s hard to hear, and loves me throughout the process of doing so. I pray one day that I can come close to being the friend to her that she has been to me and that our friendship will model to Emma what she should be looking for in a friend.

*A blogger with integrity- My amazing friend, Stacy, definitely has this down to an art. Stacy is SO MANY more things to me, too. She’s a great friend and confidant who I can trust with ANYTHING. Since I have come to know her outside of the blogging world (I know Barry & Stacy from church), she has always been true to her word. Always. People like that come a dime a dozen and Barry & Stacy are the real deal. I would definitely entrust them with anything and Stacy is my model for how I want to blog. I want to have integrity with my followers and I want to be “me” whether people like “me” or not. Does this mean I’m not humble? Goodness, I will be as humble as humble pie but there are certain non-negotiables. I have to stand by those and they are a part of what I stand for and believe in and they cannot be changed. Stacy’s blog has adapted as her home has grown but she has stuck to her guns and stood by what her family believes. In Isaiah 7:9, it says, If you don’t take your stand in faith, you won’t have a leg to stand on. When I grow up, I want to be a blogger like Stacy.

*A loving example of Christ- my good friend, Farris, models for me what I want to be to others, especially those who don’t know Christ. I want to be like Farris. The crazy thing is that Farris is younger than me. It goes to show that age doesn’t matter- you can learn from anyone. I have never seen someone more compassionate for others and meeting the needs of those around her. She sacrifices herself and her time to reach out to others in need and love them like Christ models for us. I often get irritated and frustrated with people and definitely don’t show the mercy that I know I should. I don’t think I’ve seen Farris have a moment like this. This isn’t to say that she’s perfect, but she definitely has more patience and compassion for people that I would ever dream to have. Farris and her husband, Jordan, went on a mission trip to Haiti for their honeymoon. Seriously, who does this? I thought the whole time that they had lost their minds and never would I go somewhere I had to work on my honeymoon. And once I was able to see what that looked like and the servant’s hearts they brought to a country in need, I felt SICK. God doesn’t call us to stop reaching those in need, we are to always be a light to the darkness. This isn’t to say that everyone needs to go on a mission trip for their honeymoon but Farris and Jordan felt called to go, so they went. No ands, ifs, or buts about it. They heard God speak, and they went. I’m so glad when Erinn spoke, they didn’t listen. Sometimes I have to open my mouth and insert my foot.

These are just a few of the people I want to be when I grow up. If I listed everyone we’d be here all the day long. I want to thank each of them for modeling to ME what I want to be. To my husband. To my daughter. To my friends. To those who don’t know Christ. And to my God. I pray daily for them and am thankful for the impact they have made upon my life.

Who has impacted your life in a huge way?

Every time I think of you, I give thanks to my God.  Whenever I pray, I make my requests for all of you with joy,  for you have been my partners in spreading the Good News about Christ from the time you first heard it until now. And I am certain that God, who began the good work within you, will continue his work until it is finally finished on the day when Christ Jesus returns. So it is right that I should feel as I do about all of you, for you have a special place in my heart.                                                                                                                  Philippians 1:3-7a

 

3 Responses to “When I Grow Up”

  1. Wow. I am very honored. I really don’t deserve that paragraph.

  2. […] also claps to music. This part we love. And we didn’t teach her how to do this. At all. My friend Deborah is pretty sure it comes naturally as JR and I both are music people. Who knows. The main point is we […]


Leave a Reply

