Embracing Everything Emma

Enjoying Life One Baby Step at a Time…

Meet My New Aunt! August 27, 2012

Filed under: Embracing Everything Emma,Embracing Everything Family — erinnlinkous @ 6:00 am

Erick & Emma
Photo by JR Linkous

For as long as I can remember, my brother has been my best friend. I guess it’s been that way for my entire life. When I was growing up, I would spend time with my friends but my favorite person to spend time with was Erick. I remember countless nights of staying up late just hanging out and a childhood of playing school and make belief. As we grew older and could drive, we would make regular trips out to eat, to the moonlite, and pretty much anywhere we could go. I pray that Emma is blessed with the same kind of relationship with her sibling(s) whenever God blesses us with another child. From what I hear, this is rare. I talk to people about how close I am to Erick and people are in disbelief. Apparently, being best friends with your sibling isn’t the norm but it was at the Puckett house.

Erick & Jessica
Photo by                 Sweet T Photography

On Saturday, August 18th, my brother became a married man. It was bittersweet. As I watched him, I am not ashamed to say I cried. I pictured this little boy with his blanky and paci. I pictured a little boy in his dinosaur costume walking around the house, but refusing to wear it for Halloween. I pictured MY little brother saying to me, “I love you sissy”. And then what I saw was a grown man waiting for his beautiful bride, the woman that God has created just for him. I have never been more proud of him. I was blessed to be a part of their wedding party and hear him repeat his vows to her and vice versa. Hearing him choke up as he gave a commitment of a lifetime to a woman that he would lead for the rest of his life was such an honor. We were able to share in their reception and watch them dance, share cake, and drive away for their honeymoon. I will admit that once it was over, I wished it had not come quite so quickly. I longed for the days of our childhood where it was just me and him. I realized how quickly time had passed us by and here we were, both grown and married. I was so very blessed to be able to decorate for their wedding and early Saturday morning I went to mom and dad’s to pick up the supplies. Erick met us out at the car and I was given a brief moment where it was just me and him. I was able to hug him, tell him I love him, and how proud I was of him for taking this next step in life. That moment will always remain as one of my favorites.

Emma & Jessica

Now for the main reason I wrote this post, Emma has a new aunt! Truthfully, Jessica has been Emma’s aunt since the moment she entered the world. She stayed at the hospital with us while we awaited her birth and came to visit after work the next day. At six weeks old, Emma entered daycare with her aunt Jessica. She has been her provider during the weekdays for the past year. In some ways, Jessica knows Emma better than anyone else. So, you can imagine why we believe Emma was her niece long before the vows came into play. Emma loves Jessica, too. At daycare, there were many days that Emma did not want to stay. She would start to cry and I knew it was going to be a hard morning, however, as soon as she saw Jessica everything was fine. Mommy who? Jessica made her days better and she looked forward to the days they had together. Now that Emma is a year old and out of the classroom, we have moved Emma to childcare at home. We will have to be more intentional of the time she spends with her aunt Jessica but luckily we have a lifetime now. She’s stuck with us. Ha! They asked Emma to be a part of their special day and we were so thankful for this. She will be able to look back on pictures of the wedding and know that they cared about her enough to allow her to share in this moment with them. She may not remember it, but she had so many special memories made this day that we will be able to share with her in years to come.

Erick & Jessica
Photo by
Sweet T
Photography

We are so excited to see where God leads Jessica and Erick in the years to come. We will be praying for their marriage daily and would ask you all to do the same. Marriage is something that isn’t always easy, but doing life together is so much easier than doing it alone. Life is better with a helpmate and I am so grateful that Jessica and Erick found one another. Some people live a lifetime alone and never find their soul mate but they have. God has truly given them a special gift.

With all that being said, we give Jessica a special welcome to the Puckett family and her new life as Erick’s wife, and Emma’s very special and very loved aunt. Below are some wonderful shots from the wedding, credit to Sweet T Photography. Be sure to check it out!

JR & Erinn
Photo By
Sweet T
Photography

Puckett/Linkous’
Photo By
Sweet T
Photography

JR & Emma
Photo By
Sweet T
Photography

Emma & Her Grandparents
Photo By
Sweet T
Photography

 

 

 

 

2 Responses to “Meet My New Aunt!”

  1. […] also able to borrow a lot of items. The key to this is don’t be afraid to ask! Our friends and my brother and his wife all used mason jars at their weddings. They borrowed these from a dear friend, Debbie. […]

  2. […] regularly so a lot of special history is there. It’s also where my brother and sister in law got married. I highly recommend it for […]


Leave a Reply

