Embracing Everything Emma

Enjoying Life One Baby Step at a Time…

Wee Cycle It Deals- Fall 2012 September 14, 2012

Filed under: Embracing Everything Emma,Embracing Everything Fashion — erinnlinkous @ 6:00 am

Last week was that time of year that we love so very much- Wee Cycle It! Since I thrive so much on getting good deals and the best prices on stuff for Emma, this is seriously my favorite place to shop. When I walked in I came prepared with a list and in some ways that got diverted. In other ways, it grew to be bigger and better things. Here’s how we shopped Wee Cycle this year and what we found.

I follow Wee Cycle It on Facebook which was awesome this year. There were constant updates and information available for buyers and sellers, as well as last minute pictures of everything they had available. I had never thought about certain things we would need, or want, until I saw these pictures. JR and I have been using old wooden gates for the past year and they have worked fine since Emma doesn’t put any pressure on them. Now that she is beginning to move around a lot and in the process of walking, I worry they might not be strong enough to hold up against her. We saw on one of the Wee Cycle pictures that they had multiple gates this year. We decided that I would go on to the carseats (first thing on our list) and JR would go to find a gate. Imagine my surprise when I got to the carseat section and found another BRITAX carseat (we found one last year, too) and JR met me there with TWO hands free and easy mount gates. Wow! They were identical in color and style and about $45-50 cheaper than they are in the store. We had two wooden gates so these replaced them perfectly. They are also a lot easier for us to use as we can use our feet and one hand and we don’t have to take down the gate every time we go in and out. Have I said how glad I am we checked the Facebook page, because we definitely are! This was probably my favorite find of this sale.

Another thing we focused on was Christmas and birthday gifts for Emma. We knew some things that we wanted and had an idea of some other things that would be good to have, too. We were able to shop with our list and this helped us to make sure we grabbed the things we really wanted first and then everything else later. The only thing I didn’t find that really bummed me out was a play grocery cart for Emma. This is the one I want. If anyone has one they want to get rid of, please let me know! On of our favorite finds that wasn’t on the list for this time around was a play golf set. JR loves golf and wants Emma to love golf, too. It will be so cute when he takes her places and she carries around her little golf bag with her clubs and balls. We got this find for $3.  Among other things, we got her a doctor kit for $2 with ALL KINDS of pieces with it, an iron and ironing board in great shape for $5, two little people sets totaling around $12, and wood blocks for $3. We hadn’t bought her any wooden blocks so far but she’s just now getting into them so these will be a great addition.

The last section I went to was the clothing. We buy a lot of Emma’s clothes in advance so we didn’t “need” anything. We have all her winter clothes for this year and several summer outfits for next year. I can’t wait to hit up all the summer clearance in the next few weeks. Anyways, since we didn’t have to “have” anything I briefly visited the clothing section for about 10 minutes and found two sets of pjs for $1 and a pair of Gap jeans for $3. I decided to save my “clothing” budget for the half price sale on Saturday. Let me add that if you NEED anything specific, it would be smart to get it earlier. The items go quick and you have to be willing to take what you can find when it comes half price. A lot of the good deals on items from Gymboree won’t be there. I was ok with that but I think next year I will try to spend a little more time looking at jeans. Jeans are a hot commodity at the Linkous house and apparently at Wee Cycle, too. I love shopping in advance because I still have plenty of time before she needs those. Two more Wee Cycles! As far as this year goes, I was able to find the majority of my items in 2T and a few 3T. I found 5 pajama sets, 3 shirts, 1 jumper set, 3 coats, 1 winter hat, a smock for painting, and several stuff for baby Andy and some for his sister, Annie. I got all of this stuff for $24. I saved $6 in my budget and went and got coffee. Yum! My favorite find for us was a nice, heavy Children’s Place coat for $1.50. What??? I couldn’t believe it myself. Emma won’t fit into that one until next winter but that’s ok. It was totally worth it for such a great deal! My favorite deal I found for the Myers kids was a Gymboree SET for $1. Can you believe it? Jeans and a shirt for $1. Wee Cycle rocks.

These were my finds this year. I have already started my list for next year, with a grocery buggy at the top of the list. That’s where we’ll head first this time. If you’re there for the same thing I won’t knock you down, I promise. Be sure to mark your calendars for the next sale this spring, running from March 7th to the 9th. Until then, check out their website and Facebook page.

What great deals did you find at Wee Cycle or other consignment sales?

 

8 Responses to “Wee Cycle It Deals- Fall 2012”

  1. Thanks so much for my cute finds!! I hate that I missed the half-off sale. I’m still bummed about that a week later. I’ll likely be bummed until the next sale. LOL

    • erinnlinkous Says:

      I know how that is. I’m still bummed I didn’t buy more jeans and I have two more sales until it happens. This is what happens when you’re addicted to getting deals like we are 🙂 Ha!

  2. Julia Says:

    Erinn, I have that exact grocery cart that you were looking for. Consider it yours! 🙂

  3. […] and your family. I personally don’t have a problem with used. After all, 90% of Emma’s stuff is used! You can check out sales like Wee Cycle It, or if you can’t wait, check with friends as well as […]

  4. […] #2- Dirt Devil Play Vacuum- Back at Wee Cycle It, I was on the hunt for a play vacuum cleaner and found an iron and ironing board set instead. […]

  5. […] and front facing so they are able to be used for years to come. The best part?  We bought them at Wee Cycle It! We bought Britax car seats and let me tell you, those things are TOUGH. They feel like steel is […]


Leave a Reply

