Embracing Everything Emma

Enjoying Life One Baby Step at a Time…

Vinegar, I Love You September 19, 2012

Filed under: Embracing Everything Mommy — erinnlinkous @ 6:00 am

Every once in awhile something comes along that you can’t live without- something that becomes a huge part of your life that you’re not even sure how you lived without it before you found it. For me, those things are few and far between and mostly consist of relationships but then there’s also vinegar. Call me crazy but I love vinegar. Once I realized what all it can do in my life, I never leave the pantry without it. Here are a few of my favorite uses for vinegar, focusing on distilled white vinegar. Hopefully you find some uses you didn’t know about!

It removes stains. If you’ve been with me for any amount of time, you’ll know we use vinegar regularly and used it A LOT of Emma’s clothes when we first got use to having her and all the dirty diapers that came along with it. For a few months, JR associated the smell of baby poop and vinegar. Oh well. At least the stains came out! These also works for other stains, not just baby poop. Keep in mind it’s also a natural fabric softener AND disinfectant.

It deodorizes smells. I put a tablespoon in the garbage disposal with some water when it starts to get a little stinky. It works like a charm. I also use it in my washer when we’ve got stinky clothes or my washer needs a good cleaning. It doesn’t make everything smell like vinegar- it just deodorizes. This is a lot cheaper and just as effective as the fancy cleaners you buy at the store.

It kills weeds. Beyond that, it also kills grass so be careful where you spray. I love that it’s all natural and isn’t going to hurt Allie or any other animal if they stumble upon it. And let’s be honest- it’s cheaper than weed killer. I can’t stand the price of that stuff. Yuck, yuck, yuck. I love to pull weeds but I don’t have a bunch of free time so sometimes I have to pull out the vinegar. If I’m being completely honest, I probably need to pull it out today.

It washes your veggies & fruits. You can make a mixture with vinegar, water, and lemon juice and create an amazing concoction that will clean your fruits and veggies prior to eating these. Keep in mind these won’t work as well on porous  items so spray with care. I keep my spray bottle out so I don’t forget to use it. With all the recent news of e coli on all our food, I pull this out and use is regularly. Check the link above for instructions on how to make it and how to use it.

It removes paint from dried brushes. Soak for an hour in a pot of white vinegar then bring to a simmer. I know I hate to throw away a good paint brush but never knew how to get the paint off until now! I’ll be honest. I haven’t tried this out YET. But I will be trying it the next time we pull out our paint.

It removes sticky stuff.  This can be a variety of things from sales stickers on a glass picture frame to wall paper. Check out what my friend Stacy did to get rid of her wallpaper and trim. We don’t have wallpaper so I haven’t had to use it for that but I’ve had many things I’ve bought from Target on clearance and those stupid stickers wouldn’t come off. Thanks, vinegar!

It helps you feel better. Basically, I mean from the itch of insect bites, sunburns, cuts and scrapes. It works like a charm and doesn’t cost as much as buying separate things for all these issues. There are tons of other health issues, but these are the ones I’ve used it for most recently. Another idea is to put some white vinegar in a sprayer in the freezer for a little bit. That feels great on an itchy bug bite!

It removes frost from your car windows. When you know it’s going to be a cold night, mix up 3 parts vinegar and 1 part water and coat your windshield in it. Voila! Your husband will love you forever. Make sure to have something on your list that you want. He’ll be ready to get it for you.

I love vinegar. I hope I have helped you love vinegar, too. I can go on and on about all the uses for vinegar, but instead, I’ll let you try these suggestions as well as find your own. A website I really like to use and check out for ideas is www.vinegartips.com. It has a TON of ideas to try as well as some things you cannot do with vinegar, like washing marble counters or floors. Enjoy!

What do you use vinegar for at your house?

 

Leave a Reply

