Embracing Everything Emma

Enjoying Life One Baby Step at a Time…

Button Letter October 2, 2012

Filed under: Embracing Everything Mommy — erinnlinkous @ 6:00 am

I love pinterest. There are so many great ideas on there and so many of them are cheap or even better, FREE! If it’s free, it’s for me. I browse through pinterest pretty regularly and post a lot of links on my boards but don’t necessarily do them right then. Some things I hold onto and pull out when I have some extra time or feel extra motivated. If I didn’t know better I would say I was pregnant. This past weekend I had super motivation that couldn’t be contained. I think that’s mostly due to the fact that my child and then my husband were sick in less than 48 hours. I was confined to my house and then not allowed in my bedroom all in a 24 hour time period. Yuck. I hate being confined anywhere. This got me browsing around on pinterest and checking out some things I’ve wanted to do for awhile and I stumbled upon a beauty. The letter made out of buttons. I wanted to share with you what I did and how I made it. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did making it.

I began by pulling out my button stash. I keep every extra button. I keep every button that falls off clothing that doesn’t need to be replaced or I just don’t have time to do. I hate to sew and am not very good at it, either. When I was in high school and college my sweet brother would sew my buttons back on for me. True story. He’s good husband material. Anyways, I began by looking through my buttons and slowly making the letter “L” out of the buttons that were my favorite. I eventually traded out some of the bigger buttons for smaller ones since I was using a 5×7 frame and didn’t have the option to take up more space than necessary.

After I played with it enough and made sure I liked the set up I had going, I pulled out my hot glue gun and let it warm up. I love my hot glue gun. I got it on clearance at Walmart back in the day when I use to shop there. It may be the only good thing Walmart ever did for me. I also took time to pick out my background paper I would use. I’m a big fan of neutral colors and picked brown. It made it the most useable in whatever room I placed my finished product. After the gun heated up, I was able to slowly put each button in place and as it came together I fell in love. It was exactly how I wanted it to look. It was homey with a sense of style and my own work made it more personable, too. I liked the cursive “L”, too, because it made it more decorative.

The next step to take was to pick out the frame I wanted to use. I browsed around the house picking which one I would use. This one or that one. I finally found the one. It was a rustic brown with tints of gold and I knew it would blend so well with the brown background and button colors I had selected. The frame had an old engagement picture it in that now hangs on our fridge. The mix of the two looked great and I was pleased with what I had created.

The final thing I did was figure out where I would put my framed homemade art. I considered Emma’s room but the style of the buttons didn’t fit her room and the African safari look we had going. I looked around our den and then spotted the perfect place. On our kitchen table, I have a lazy Susan we got at Ikea that has my Christmas cactus on it. It wasn’t quite enough and the frame really brought it together and made it look just right. I was so pleased with the way it brought my kitchen together that I was able to relax the rest of the night. I didn’t feel the urge to make something new or clean up another mess. I was able to relax because I had made something I liked and was proud of making it. That’s a wonderful feeling to have.

At the end of the day, this project didn’t cost me a dime. I had the buttons and the frame. I had the craft supplies, too. I even have enough extra buttons, too, if I want to make a few as gifts later on down the road. It’s definitely one of my favorite pinterest projects I’ve found so far and would highly recommend it. It’s cheap. It’s easy. It’s beautiful. Win, win, win!

What pinterest projects have you tried that you have loved? Any that you would recommend?

 

2 Responses to “Button Letter”


Leave a Reply

