Embracing Everything Emma

Enjoying Life One Baby Step at a Time…

A Tale of Two Births, Part Two: A Natural Hospital Birth October 24, 2012

Today’s post is from one of my best friends, Stacy, of Stacy Makes Cents. Stacy is such an awesome woman and I hope you enjoy her guest post as I enjoy her in general! She will continue in our series of childbirth and share the differences between a medicated and natural birth. After all, she’s done both and can give us great advice on each option! Be sure to check out yesterday’s post if you missed Part 1!

Andrew James Myers

My second child, Andrew, began his appearance in much the same way as my first – my water broke. Except this time, I was out of town. A quick trip home was necessary and then I began my labor at home. Contractions were mild, so at the advice of my doula, I began to use a breast pump to increase my contractions – and BOY DID THAT WORK!

I labored at home as long as I could. I knew that going to the hospital too early would result in pitocin since my water had already broken. I wanted to make sure I was well progressed before I arrived. After several hours at home, we (Barry, myself, and my doula) went to the hospital. The most ironic part of the whole thing was that upon arrival, I was given a TEST to make sure I was in labor…I thought my groans and hollers would have alerted them to that fact (also, they charged me $190 for that test!!! I’m still unhappy about that).

Laboring at Home

I used a lot of coping methods to help me get through my contractions – leaning, groaning, squatting (not my favorite), bouncing on the birthing ball, relaxing in the shower, and laying over the bed. I kept wishing there was a labor pool close by. 😉

When it was time to push, they adjusted the bed so I could push in a sitting position – which is MUCH better than lying down. I pushed for almost two hours, but I got nice breaks in between – I was even able to catch a few winks (I was exhausted). I will never forget the feeling of pushing my child out…something I did not get to experience with Annie. Having the control to push and feeling that child slide out is the most amazing feeling in the whole world…and the burning Ring of Fire doesn’t last too long. 😉

Holding Andrew

They laid him on my chest before they even cut the cord. It was AWESOME! I was able to breastfeed then as well. It was how birth was meant to be for me.   I shook like crazy so the nurses covered me up with warm blankets – hormones cause weird things to happen…but the high of birth I experienced was worth every minute.

A natural birth was harder, but it made me feel more like a grown woman. I knew I had done the job I was created to do. I had wonderful support and the hospital staff was fabulous!

I am so thankful for both of my babies – my healthy babies…but I have decided that for me, natural is the way to go.

There is power that comes to women when they give birth. They don’t ask for it, it simply invades them. Accumulates like clouds on the horizon and passes through, carrying the child with it. ~ Sheryl Feldman

Mommy and Andy

Pros of Natural Childbirth:

Less risk of “complications” resulting from drug usage

-Mom is “present” and an active participant in her labor

-An easier recovery time

-Ability to move around during labor

-Ability to try different positions (like the shower) for pain relief

-Experiencing of the “euphoria” of natural birth

-It’s cheaper

Cons of Natural Childbirth:

-It’s painful

-You cannot “schedule” your baby’s arrival – you wait

-You must plan more in advance and spend time studying coping methods

-If labor is long, you end up being exhausted. Not coping well with contractions may lead to a need for medication in order to get rest – so you can push.

-It may be hard to find a “natural” friendly hospital if you do not want to birth at home

An undisturbed birth will help you be the mother that your baby needs you to be.  ~Unknown

Stacy is a stay-at-home mom to her two children, Annie (3) and Andy (newborn). After an “awakening” in March 2011, her family switched to a more natural, whole foods diet. She likes to blog about how to live on less than you make and how to eat good food while doing it. Her passion is teaching others how to save money and she tag teams with her husband in this endeavor. At Stacy Makes Cents you’ll find information on how to save money in the kitchen, how to have fun with your kids, and how to be thrifty in all areas of life. Her passion is teaching others how to live debt free. Make sure to follow her on Facebook (https://www.facebook.com/stacymakescents) and Twitter(https://twitter.com/stacymakescents) to keep up with her daily antics.

 

4 Responses to “A Tale of Two Births, Part Two: A Natural Hospital Birth”

  1. Ali Says:

    It didn’t occur to me to ask for pain relief during labour. Yes, it was tough, but, magically, I knew what to do! I feel proud of how we brought our boy into the world. My husband summed it up when he said: “before, I thought you could do anything. Now I KNOW it”. 🙂

  2. A natural birth requires planning and education by both parents. It has been my experience that the Dr. will listen to your plans for a natural childbirth with a nodding and smiling face. But what he’s really thinking is “yeah, she thinks she wants a natural birth. First real contraction and she will be begging for that epidural.” You, the parents, must decide what type of birth experience you desire to have and then surround yourselves with people who will help teach you and guide you towards that goal. A doula is an amazing person to have as part of your support team. A midwife is a natural alternative to a OB Dr. If you desire a natural birth, then surround yourself from the very beginning with people who will support that decision.


Leave a Reply

