Embracing Everything Emma

Enjoying Life One Baby Step at a Time…

Week of Thanksgiving Day #1- Momma’s Pumpkin Stew November 19, 2012

Filed under: Embracing Everything Family — erinnlinkous @ 6:00 am
Tags: , , ,

I wanted to do a week long tribute to the great holiday that is about all thankfulness and family, Thanksgiving! This entire week will be dedicated to all different things- recipes, decorations, thankfulness, and more. It’s really an amazing time of year. People find time and make time to get together with the ones they love. Thanksgiving is truly about being thankful for what we have and not focusing on what we don’t have or what we want. It’s about being grateful for all that’s been given to us and not wanting more. Truthfully, every day should be a little bit like Thanksgiving. If we would recognize more often how blessed we truly are, all the little things wouldn’t really matter anymore. I hope you’ll join me along the way!

The first post of this series will be dedicated to my momma. Last week, I shared several different recipes for all different seasons and included how much I like pumpkin. Pumpkin anything, really. I have made all things pumpkin in the past month, including dog treats. Everyone at the Linkous house has benefited from my obsession. One of my favorite things pumpkin is my momma’s famous pumpkin stew. She has been making it for years now after she made it for a get together and it was such a hit. I’ll be honest- the first time it freaked me out a little bit that everything was cooked INSIDE the pumpkin, but once I embraced it, I never looked back. Now I look at it and I love how everything is so festive- including how the stew itself is cooked.

I have never attempted to make this stew myself which makes it even more special that I’m sharing it with you all- it’s truly a specialty of my mom’s. I try not to duplicate things I really love other people making. For example, I have never made my mom’s pumpkin stew or her meatloaf. I have never made my dad’s oriental chicken salad. I have never made JR’s version of chewy charlies. I love to have those things on special occasions and not ruin them by knowing how to make them and making it a regular thing. The more rare, the better. It just makes it that much extra special. I hope this recipe finds a special place in your heart like it did mine and that it becomes a holiday tradition in your household, too. So here’s to my momma- thanks for always making such delicious meals and offering to share it with my blogging family!

Pumpkin Stew

Bake a medium size roast in your Crockpot the day before. My mom cooks enough to have extra but you can just cook enough for this meal. The next day all the fun begins…

In a pan, add meat, water, potatoes, carrots, green peppers, garlic, onion, salt and pepper. Cover and simmer for 2 hours. Stir in bouillon and tomatoes. While this is cooking, wash your pumpkin and cut about a 6-8 inch circle around the top stem. Remove the top and SAVE. Pull out all seeds and the fiber of the pumpkin. This would be a good time to make pumpkin seeds, too. Place on a shallow, sturdy, baking pan. Spoon stew into pumpkin and replace the top. Brush the pumpkin with the oil (my mom’s prefers using cooking oil spray instead). Place in the oven and baked at 325 degrees for 2 hours or until the inside of the pumpkin is tender (DO NOT OVERBAKE). Use a spoon and when you can scoop pumpkin off the side, it’s tender and ready. When serving, scoop some of the pumpkin out with the stew. Be sure to invite people over to join you but don’t invite so many you don’t get some, too!

Ingredients

Medium sized roast

1 tbsp olive oil OR cooking spray

1 cup water

3 large potatoes peeled and cut into 1” cubes

4 medium carrots cut into small pieces

1 large green pepper cut into 1” pieces

4 garlic cloves, minced

I medium onion, chopped

2 tsp salt

½ tsp pepper

2 tbsp instant beef bouillon granules

1 can (14.5 ounces) tomatoes, diced & undrained

1 pumpkin, 10-12 lbs in size

Enjoy the recipe and if you have any questions, please let me know. If I don’t know the answer, I’m sure my momma will. Happy cooking!

What is your favorite pumpkin recipe?

 

3 Responses to “Week of Thanksgiving Day #1- Momma’s Pumpkin Stew”

  1. Donna Lynn Puckett ( aka Momma) Says:

    What a special blog! Thank you for being a wonderful daughter, loving caring and spending time with your Dad and me. I love you!

  2. […] you finish making your pumpkin seeds and pumpkin stew, some of you will still have pumpkin leftovers. Some people go stir crazy during Halloween and buy […]


Leave a Reply

