Embracing Everything Emma

Enjoying Life One Baby Step at a Time…

Week of Thanksgiving Day #5: Turkey Galore! November 23, 2012

Well Thanksgiving has come and gone and my prayers are that each of you have had a wonderful time with your friends and family this holiday season. I’d imagine that each of you have overcome the turkey coma you entered yesterday and are ready for more leftover turkey. The only question is what can you make with your leftover turkey beyond the expected turkey sandwiches. Well, fear not! I have put together a compilation of recipes for your leftover turkey that will keep something new and fresh coming with every day of turkey remains.

Do you love anything spicy and Mexican style? I know we do at the Linkous house! I thought the Southwestern Turkey Soup recipe looked really good and made turkey not so turkey, if you get what I’m saying. If we have any leftovers this year, this will be the FIRST thing I try!

I love pasta. It’s my one big carb weakness. The thought of being able to use leftover turkey to make a pasta dish makes my mouth water. Yummy in my tummy! The Turkey Tetrazzini is second on my list of what to make with leftover turkey. If I don’t get to try this one, I expect to hear some reviews from those of you who do try it!

The last recipe I found to try is very intriguing to me. I’ve never been a huge Reuben fan but I know JR and my dad both really like them so I thought why not? If you’ve got leftover turkey and really like sandwiches, this might be a way to make sandwiches but mix it up and make it “new”.

I hope you’ve enjoyed all these new recipes and have found some to use to freshen up your after Thanksgiving meals. Be sure to check out all the recipes below!

What is your favorite thing to make with your leftover turkey?

Southwestern Turkey Soup

1 ½ cups shredded cooked turkey

4 cups vegetable broth (If you are able to make fresh turkey stock, I would do this instead!)

1 (28 ounce) can whole peeled tomatoes

1 (4 ounce) can chopped green chili peppers

2 roma tomatoes, chopped

1 onion, chopped

2 cloves garlic, crushed OR 1 tsp garlic salt

1 tbsp lime juice

½ tsp cayenne pepper

½ tsp ground cumin

salt & pepper, to taste

1 avocado, peeled & diced

½ tsp dried cilantro

1 cup shredded cheese (cheddar, Mexican mix, Monterey jack, etc)

In a large pot on medium heat, add the turkey, broth (or stock), canned tomatoes, green chilies, fresh tomatoes, onion, garlic, and lime juice. Next, add the cayenne pepper, cumin, salt and pepper. Bring to a boil and then reduce heat to simmer for 15-20 minutes. After finished, stir in avocado and cilantro and simmer another 15-20 minutes until slightly thickened. After put into bowls, add shredded cheese. Enjoy!

Turkey Tetrazzini

1 (8 ounce) package cooked egg noodles

2 tbsp butter

1 can (6 ounce) sliced mushrooms (I hate mushrooms so I will NOT add these)

1 tsp salt

1/8 tsp pepper

2 cups chopped & cooked turkey

1 (10.75 ounce) can of condensed cream of celery soup (I’m not a big fan of canned anything so I will probably substitute here with a broth or stock of some sort)

1 cup sour cream

½ cup grated Parmesan cheese

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees and then bring a pot of water to a boil and add pasta. Cook for 8-10 minutes and drain. Melt butter in a skillet and sauté the mushrooms for 1 minute. Add the salt, pepper, turkey, condensed soup (or stock/broth), and sour cream. Placed noodles in a 9×13 baking dish and pour the sauce mixture evenly over the top. Sprinkle with the parmesan cheese. Bake for 20-25 minutes.

Turkey Reuben Sandwich

1 cup sauerkraut, drained

10 ounces turkey

2 tbsp butter

4 slices marble rye bread

4 slices Swiss cheese

4 tbsp thousand island dressing

Warm the sauerkraut and turkey and set aside. Spread butter on one side of each slice of rye bread and then spread the thousand island dressing on the other side. Divide the sauerkraut, turkey, and Swiss cheese on two slices of bread with the butter side down. Stack the remaining two slices of bread with the butter side up. Heat a skillet over medium-low heat and grill sandwiches until lightly browned and the cheese has melted. This will be about 2-3 minutes on each side.

 

Leave a Reply

