Embracing Everything Emma

Enjoying Life One Baby Step at a Time…

Fashion Friday: Comfort at Home December 7, 2012

friday

One of the biggest questions that has always gone through my mind is how to be comfortable and look well at the same time. It’s easy to be comfortable and look bad. Just throw on some old sweats, a paint covered tshirt, throw your hair up, and forget the bath. That’s the truth. You may be stinky and look like you’ve been run over, but it feels relaxing. The downside comes when the neighbor rings your doorbell asking for sugar or your babysitter comes by to pick up their leftovers from the day before. I won’t lie- I have been known to pretend I’m not home when these moments arise. There’s another answer that works better and makes it easier to not only let people in but go out when needed. It doesn’t mean you take hours to prepare, just a few extra minutes.

Photo by SomeEcards

Photo by SomeEcards

*Invest in some comfy and stylish pjs. My personal favorites are a pair of yoga paints and a matching shirt. It’s one of those outfits that is VERY comfortable but also doesn’t look like something I’ve worn the past 3 days. This keeps you comfortable at home without looking too shabby. It also keeps you from having to change clothes if you don’t want to. You can run out in this outfit, too, without people thinking you just rolled out of bed.

*If you’re wanting to take it to the next step, have a comfortable outfit. Everyone needs at least one “go to” outfit that you can wear at home AND out on your day off. It doesn’t mean that you would wear it to work or dinner at a 5 star restaurant, but it’s one that you can wear and not be in shame. For me, I love leggings. They are super comfortable when you find the right pair and make for a great “on the go” outfit. I will usually throw over a loose tunic that I can lounge in, too. If it’s a really cold day, I’ll throw on a long sweater instead.

*Take a bath, please! One big way to make yourself feel pulled together is to feel clean. You can wear clean clothes but when you’ve had the same undies on for the past 2 days it doesn’t matter what all you’ve done, there is no way to feel clean in that. Shower and then change clothes to feel even more comfortable than before. For that matter, take a bath. That’s a way to really relax and feel comfortable!

*Take care of your face. Before going to bed at night, you should wash your face. I use to do better at this prior to having a child but I still try to do this every night, especially taking off my eye make up. If you keep your face clean and take care of it regularly, you won’t have to worry about how it looks without makeup on. For that matter, if you’re off and not going somewhere, DON’T wear makeup. It gives your skin some extra time to breathe. I love the tight feeling of your skin after your face has been washed. I know, I’m a weirdo.

*Statement pieces make a difference, too. It doesn’t mean you need to deck out your whole attire with belts and jewelry, but wear some earrings, a bracelet or a ring that jumps out. If it’s winter time throw on a scarf, too, to keep extra warm. It’s a known fact that long earrings can help you lose up to 10 pounds in looks alone. That’s a seller for me! I love losing weight without losing weight. Keep in mind that you’re statement piece of choice doesn’t necessarily need to be something big, chunky and annoying. Pick something that you like to wear that’s light weight and not going to get in your way.

Photo by Your Ecards

Photo by YourEcards

*Find a hairstyle that works for you. My hair is starting to grow which gives me a little extra leeway on days off. I can throw it up in a ponytail or a sloppy bun and it still looks fashionable. I have the tendency to have oily hair. It was great and dry when I was pregnant but I guess all good things must come to an end. If I’m in a hurry to go somewhere or need to look more pulled together on a day off I will throw a little baby powder in my hair on the oily spots to save me from a bind. I have tried some of the dry shampoo but I just feel baby powder does better. I wouldn’t make this a daily ritual but I would definitely keep it in your back pocket for times when you don’t have time or even want to fully get ready. Those days happen in life, especially in mommyhood.

*The main piece of advice is to be comfortable in whatever you choose to wear. The whole point of a day off is to enjoy it and relax while doing so. I would never ever, EVER wear a dress when I’m trying to relax. I know a lot of people like them but I just don’t relax when I wear one so I know this doesn’t work for me. What works for one may not work for another so keep that in mind- you have to decide for you what works and go with that.

What is your “go to” look when you’re trying to get comfortable?

 

Leave a Reply

