Embracing Everything Emma

Enjoying Life One Baby Step at a Time…

What I Love About Christmas December 13, 2012

Fall is by far my favorite season. I find it ironic that Christmas is my favorite holiday and it takes place in December. I try to remember that it comes only 4 days after fall officially ends so it’s not a full-blown member of the winter season. Whatever helps me sleep at night, right?

ilovechristmas

I wanted to take today to share some of my favorite things to embrace about Christmas time and I hope you take time to enjoy some of your favorite things about Christmas, too!

christmasmusic

*Christmas music is my favorite kind of music. I listen to it non-stop from the time Thanksgiving ends to the time Christmas is here and sometimes a little bit afterwards. We always include picking a new Christmas CD in our advent calendar. We like it that much. My all time favorite song is “O Holy Night” but I’m a big fan of other songs, too. “Christmas in Dixie” definitely ranks in my top five which means I really LOVE Christmas at Dollywood, too. I currently have Michael Buble’s Christmas CD in my car- it makes me extra cheerful in the mornings when I’m not at my cheerful max.

*Christmas movies are on all the time right now. If you have cable, you don’t really have to own movies anymore with all the TV channels that play the endless amounts of Christmas movies. We like ABC Family’s “25 Days of Christmas” since they have a lot of classic family Christmas movies. My top three would probably be White Christmas, The Grinch, and Home Alone. Christmas Vacation would probably make it in to the top three as a tie with Home Alone. I think it’s fair to have a top three and actually have four if two of them tie, right?

gingerbreadcookies

*Christmas food makes me drool. Seriously it does. I know Christmas is here when my mom brings out the red pepper jelly. Yummy yummy! Every year on Christmas day we have a lunch with all kinds of wonderful goodness that includes the famous red pepper jelly along with ham, rolls, fudge, and more. The only food that I’m not fond of and could forget at Christmas time is fruit cake. Please do not make me eat fruit cake or buy me any either.

*Christmas shopping is always exciting and festive. We love finding gifts for others and getting the stuff to make gifts, too. We spend a lot of time preparing in advance and shopping throughout the entire year but there are some things you can only find at Christmas time. We are also big fans of the after Christmas shopping and the sales that take place then. Some of the best deals you can get are after Christmas. We always buy our Christmas decorations during this time as well as some gifts for birthdays and holidays to come. We’ve got some amazing deals by waiting to shop until after Christmas.

christmasparty

*Christmas parties are a great time to hang out with friends and catch up with people you haven’t seen in awhile. It seems that every year we have more and more parties to attend but we always have a great time. So far, I’ve been to four different parties and still have at least two more before Christmas gets here. I know some people do, but I never get tired of the get togethers, the food, and the time spent with good friends. Bring on the parties!

*Christmas with family is at the top of the list. We’re always able to spend a lot of time with our family that we don’t normally get to do. All my family comes in to Bluefield for the holidays so we’re able to get together with a lot of family that we don’t get to see regularly. As we grow, it gets harder and harder to find time to get together and Christmas is the perfect time for it. I really can’t wait to see my cousin, Kelly, and her precious baby bump. I love a good baby bump. Another tradition we always do is go the movies with my family on Christmas day. I’m bound and determined that this year we will be seeing Les Miserables (fingers crossed!)

merrychristmas

Despite all these wonderful things, my absolutely favorite thing about Christmas is the love that came to save me and redeem me. I hope you are able to find things to be thankful for this holiday season and ultimately are able to find the love of Christ in your heart. Merry Christmas to each of you!

 

2 Responses to “What I Love About Christmas”

  1. Sara Henry Says:

    I love reading your posts in the morning!


Leave a Reply

