Embracing Everything Emma

Enjoying Life One Baby Step at a Time…

Thoughts on Christmas Eve December 24, 2012

When I think of Christmas, Jesus’ birth is always the first thing that comes to mind. Our precious Savior was born into this world to take away the sins that we brought upon ourselves. It just humbles me so to think of his humble beginnings. While Jesus is at the beginning of my Christmas time thoughts, I also think about Mary, especially today. It’s Christmas Eve and I wonder what she was thinking. Give or take a few hours, Mary was traveling with her husband, Joseph, while carrying her precious baby, knowing labor was coming soon. I know in my mind the things I thought the night before I had Emma were nothing compared to what the virgin mother of Christ was feeling. I can only imagine her fears and worries along with the comfort and peace given to her by her heavenly Father. I also have to imagine what a place it would be to know that the creator of Heaven and Earth, the God of all things, had chosen ME to be the mother of Christ. Just wow. In honor of the woman who said “yes” to bringing our Savior into the world, I wanted to share the lyrics to one of my favorite Christmas songs:

Mary did you know that your baby boy would some day walk on water?

Mary did you know that your baby boy would save our sons and daughters?

Did you know that your baby boy has come to make you new?

This child that you’ve delivered, will soon deliver you.

Mary did you know that your baby boy would give sight to a blind man?

Mary did you know that your baby boy would calm a storm with his hand?

Did you know that your baby boy has walked where angels trod?

And when your kiss your little baby, you have kissed the face of God.

Oh Mary did you know

The blind will see, the deaf will hear, the dead will walk again.

The lame will leap, the dumb will speak, the praises of the lamb

Mary did you know that your baby boy is Lord of all creation?

Mary did you know that your baby boy would one day rule the nations?

Did you know that your baby boy is heaven’s perfect Lamb?

This sleeping child you’re holding is the great I AM

I have to think there are a few other thoughts that Mary could have been asked that Mark Lowry didn’t include. These questions tug at the heart of this mother and believe that Mary made a sacrifice I’m not sure I ever could. She watched her Son die for the sins of others. My heart breaks for her in knowing that the cost of her salvation was through her own Son. It’s a powerful thought and a heartbreaking one all at the same time. She raised her Son not knowing when or how, but knowing that one day He would pay the price to redeem this broken world. As a mother, you never want your children to die before you do. You want them to live long and healthy lives. Lives that bring joy to God and to others, too. To know that Mary lived years past her own Son and without her husband breaks my heart. I cannot imagine the agony every night in knowing this.

In the same breath, I cannot imagine the comfort and peace given to her. God chose Mary to be the mother of Christ and knew that she would be the one who would take on this role. She would be the one who would not lose faith. She would be the one who would continue to walk the path despite how her heart broke. She would be the one who could see the greater good even through her heartache and pain. That one day again, she would see her Son, and so would others, thanks to His selfless love shown for us on the cross. I have to believe as a mother, you couldn’t be prouder of your child than Mary was. No greater love has been shown than the love shed on the cross.

This is what I think about at Christmas. What about you?

 

Leave a Reply

