Embracing Everything Emma

Enjoying Life One Baby Step at a Time…

I Need New Clothes! January 4, 2013

friday

Welcome to Fashion Friday after our quick break last week to discuss Emma’s new kitchen. If you haven’t read up, I would encourage you to go back and read Part 1 and Part 2. Can you tell I’m proud? Because I am.

clothingrack

Today we going to talk about getting a new wardrobe when you need new clothes without breaking the bank. When I was pregnant with Emma, I gained 8 pounds. How that happened, I’m not even sure. I guess it was all the nausea that kept hitting me. Anyways, I had Emma and immediately dropped 12 pounds. Woohoo! I was already less than my pre-pregnancy weight. Over the course of the next 3 months I managed to drop another 25 pounds. Nursing totally rocks for multiple reasons, including the weight loss. You basically have to do nothing more than hook your baby up to your breast. No joke! Anyways, I knew I was dropping pounds and wouldn’t fit into my pre-pregnancy clothes. I’m not one for complaining and was more than happy to loss the weight I had been trying to lose for years, but I had a limited budget and very few clothes in my new size. I wanted to share with you how I made it work on our limited budget and how you can, too!

becreative

Look at what you’ve got and get creative. I was surprised to find that I had several things that would work with my new found weight loss. Several long shirts were able to be adapted into tunics. Several dresses could be belted to add structure and provide a loose fit. All my other clothes that were just a little too big were packed away with my maternity clothes for the next time around. The ones that I didn’t like and wanted to get rid off went into the She Swap sale. I was able to make some money on stuff that didn’t work anymore so I could find some new stuff that worked even better.

sharing

Find friends/family that share. During that transition period where I knew I wasn’t done losing weight, I didn’t want to go out and invest in a lot of new things. I was blessed to have some people who let me borrow a few things here and there, thank goodness. I definitely am willing to return the favor to them and anyone else. It helped us out a lot and I was so grateful for them and their generosity. It also allowed me more time to save up and be able to buy clothes I could wear more long term.

clearancesale

Shop the clearance racks. Every payday, I would go do our grocery shopping and usually hit up the clearance aisle at Target with an extra $5-$15 in hand. It didn’t mean I always found something and there were several times I walked away empty handed, however, there were other times that I left with 1-2 new pieces and I ended up saving $20-$30. What a win! I love shopping clearance and Target has some of the best around.

yardsale

Visit yard sales and consignments sales. I was blessed that She Swap came about a month and a half after I had Emma so I was able to get some new jeans for super cheap. I got them a little tight and fit into them well now. They were American Eagle jeans that I paid $4 for and they’re in great shape. I would have easily dropped $40-$50 on them in store. While I was at it, I also found a seersucker pink jacket. What can I say, I’m a sucker for seersucker. I paid a little more for it. It was $7 and a Liz Claiborne one that would have run me well over $50 in store. This summer I felt like I had finally hit a steady point and was willing to spend a little more on clothes at yard sales. I was able to get a few sweaters, sweatshirts, jackets, and pants for less than $20. When we went to Disney, mom and I hit up some consignment shops and I got some AMAZING deals there. Seriously. I bought a Ralph Lauren button up shirt for $3 and a Gap twill jacket for $6. I love deals. Do you?

budget

Budget! This is a super important one. If you know you want new clothes and you want to go on a shopping spree, budget for it. Set an amount that you can afford to put back each month and save up until you get the amount you want and then go shopping. Also, you can ask for money for birthdays and Christmas to go towards this, too. Sometimes it may mean you have to wait a little bit but in the end it’s well worth it to get it and not stretch the budget to do so.

This is how we’ve saved money and I’ve got a new wardrobe at the same time. I have several clothes that are the same but even more that are new, if not to others it’s at least new to me. I would rather have what I have now than 5 things that cost the same. It’s taken me a year to complete the wardrobe I want but it’s been well worth it. Now, I just need to drop some more weight and then I’ll get to start again. Fun fun!

What are your suggestions for getting a new wardrobe?

Also, don’t forget to go to my Facebook page and vote on the topic for next week’s Fashion Friday at 9am. Voting will close Sunday evening at 9pm.

 

Leave a Reply

