Embracing Everything Emma

Enjoying Life One Baby Step at a Time…

How Much is Too Much? January 15, 2013

agreatdeal

There are many times that I find something on sale or on clearance and skip over it. I know it sounds crazy and I’m sure you’re wondering why in the world I choose NOT to take part in such a great deal. The reason is simple: sometimes the deal I’ve found isn’t really a good deal at all. Here are some tips I have on how to make the deal you get is one worth getting.

*Only buy things you actually need. I know this one seems like common sense, but I couldn’t tell you how many people, including myself, have been suckered into buying a “whatever it may be” because it was a good deal. Seriously, I don’t care what you find for $2 that was originally $10 or $20 that was originally $200. If you don’t need it for yourself or a gift for someone else, don’t buy it. It’s simple as that. It’s better to save your $2 or $20 than to spend it on something you’ll never use or need.

*Only buy things you can afford. This goes back to the previous point. It really doesn’t matter what deals you find. If there’s no money in the bank, please don’t go out and buy something that you don’t have money to buy. It doesn’t matter what deal you find or how much you may want the item. If it’s not in the budget and/or you don’t have the money, don’t buy it. We are working daily on the “not in the budget” thing. It’s tough but totally worth it.

*Only buy things that are really a good deal. If you need tomato sauce and find it on clearance for $1.28 at Target and it’s regular price $1.30 at Kroger, I’m not sure that’s a good deal once you factor in gas. The same would be true if you don’t need something but you will eventually. It you will eventually need olive oil and find it on sale or clearance for $4.99 and it’s normally $5.19 I would hold off. Chances are, you’ll probably find a better deal later. I would take my chances on that $.20.

buyme

*Only bring cash. I need to work on this one. Big time. I’m a big fan of thinking I can control my spending and then being the deal seeker I am, I will spend it and make room in the budget. If you only have CASH to spend, you won’t be tempted to spend “x” amount on a “good deal” when you only have “x” to spend. The few times I’ve done this so far, I have left my wallet in the car, too. I may be weak in the moment but I usually can compose myself in the time it takes to go out to my car and come back in. if you can’t control that, I would recommend leaving your wallet at home. It may be painful the first time or two, but over time, it will get easier. I promise!

*Be wise on wording. For example, anytime you see “Buy One Get One 50% Off” stay away! I repeat, stay away! In most cases, you are only saving 25% on each item, so they are able to mark the cost up 25% without you knowing because you’re so caught up in the “good deal”. The same would be true of any deals where you can’t use coupons to make a good deal happen. Be wise of deals that would only be good when coupons are involved and if you can’t use them, just walk away.

moneytree

Since I know it’s a new year and we’re all working to do better- my goal is do better with my spending and paying off debt quicker than I was before. I don’t make resolutions, but I do make goals. Here are a few verses I was given at church this past weekend that I’m clinging tight to as I’m reaching my goal and I hope they encourage you, too!

A wise man thinks ahead…                        Proverbs 3:16

Choose for yourselves this day whom you will serve…But as for me and my household, we will serve the Lord!                                    Joshua 24:15 (in relation to financial serving God, too!)

 

Leave a Reply

