Embracing Everything Emma

Enjoying Life One Baby Step at a Time…

A Letter to Emma January 23, 2013

letter

A lot of thought went into this post before I wrote it. I couldn’t decide what I wanted to say or how I wanted to say it. I knew whatever I said, I wanted it to be worth Emma reading. Also, I had to think about what I would want Emma to know if I couldn’t tell her myself, meaning that I was no longer here on earth with her. That’s a tough thing to think about as a mom. I want to be here for a long time and watch Emma grow. The reality is, that none of my days are promised, and if I wasn’t here to tell her, here is what I’d want her to know:

Dear Emma,

There are so many things I want you to know. There are so many things that I want to share with you myself, but for whatever reason, I am unable to. If there is anything that I would want you to know, it would be that—

*Enjoy life. Life is too short to spend it worrying and stressing about things that don’t matter. After all, God is in control of everything. This isn’t to say that you just act careless. If you’re wise in how you live (ie: be wise with your money, choose your friends carefully, always do your best, and more), you can spend even more time enjoying life than most! Live life to the fullest and work towards living a life that you would be proud of and want others to live.

*Think before you do anything. You can never take back something you say. You can never take back something you do. Sure, you can make it right but you can never take anything back that has been done. It’s better to think it through than to do it and regret it later. You are going to make mistakes, however, and when you do- make it right. Don’t wait for someone else to make the first move. Be humble, be the bigger person, and do your part to make something right. It may not take it back, but it will make a difference.

*You are beautiful. When you were born, we had countless people tell us that you were the most beautiful baby they had ever seen and to this day, it continues. Your love and appreciation for everything in life makes you even more beautiful and I love watching you embrace life and live it to the fullest. No matter what people say your beauty, first and foremost, is found in the love of your Savior. You are His precious treasure and He made you in His image. What could be more beautiful than that? I know that because His word says it. What a beauty He has given us- both inside and out!

*Fall in love, get married and have kids! You are the BEST thing I’ve ever done with my life. When your dad and I decided to have a baby, we knew it would be the best decision we’d ever made but didn’t realize HOW wonderful it would be! When I hear people say that their child completes their life, it is so very true. You have made our lives better than we could have ever imagined and I am so blessed and amazed that God has allowed me to be your mom. I could never thank Him enough for this privilege.

*Your dad is the best man you will ever meet. Don’t get me wrong- you have A LOT of great men in your life, but none will compare to your dad. He is the man God created for me and has loved me in ways that I could never imagine and been the BEST dad you could ever ask for in this life. When you were born, I was able to witness his love for you happen in just a moment. It was like he had known you his whole life. Everything he said to you was in his eyes and I know that he loves you more than life itself. Look to him as an earthly model for how a man should treat a woman and NEVER settle for anything less than that. Your dad definitely is that model and still melts my heart today.

*I love you as close to unconditionally as I know how. I am not God and my love will never compare to His, but as best as I know how, I love you unconditionally. You are one of the most important things God created me for and I know He has a great plan for you! I love you no matter what road you take and where you go in life. Nothing could make me love you any more or any less than I do right now. When I first found out that I was pregnant with you, I was in love. I loved you with everything in my being and knew in an instant that I would never take another breath without thinking of you first. You are my precious gift from God and I am so glad that I am able to call you my daughter.

*Jesus died for you and wants you to let Him into your heart! A relationship with Him is the most important decision you will ever make in your life! No one will ever love you like He did when He died on the cross for you and you will never be able to love to the fullest until you understand and accept that love into your life. His love gives you such meaning and purpose- He completes you in every way. No relationship will ever be more important or more essential in your life than the one with your Heavenly Father. Turn to Him in all things. He will be there for your happiest moments, your saddest moments, your most difficult moments, your proudest moments, and more. God will be your greatest love if you allow Him to be- He was pursuing you before you were even born.

I love you now, my princess, and will love you always and forever~ Momma

If I had all the time in the world, I would say more. I would write pages and pages. I would talk to her for hours on end. This puts together the MOST important things I would say. I would encourage you to the do the same for your children, your spouse, and more. We never know when we’ll take our last breath and I want to know the ones I loved most know I loved them.

Have you ever written down a letter for your loved ones?

 

Leave a Reply

