Embracing Everything Emma

Enjoying Life One Baby Step at a Time…

Momma’s Curried Chicken January 31, 2013

Taste of Home Magazine Photo Credit: Taste of Home

Taste of Home Magazine Photo Credit: Taste of Home

As most of you know, my momma is one of my favorite cooks of all time. I cannot count on one or two hands how many amazing dishes she makes. Although I love all of them, there is one that has always been my absolute favorite and because I couldn’t handle not making it myself, I broke my rule of not asking for the recipe. Gasp! I know it’s hard to believe but I just couldn’t have it only when my mom made it and neither could JR. We had to have MORE. Today I wanted to share with you my mom’s curry chicken. It’s an oldie from Taste of Home that mom fixed up and made her own special recipe. Today I share that recipe with you in hopes that every time you make it, you think of my wonderful mother.

This recipe is simple and calls for very few ingredients. The first step is to get 2-4 boneless, skinless chicken and allow them time to thaw if frozen. Once your chicken is about done thawing, preheat your oven to 350 degrees. Also, melt 4 tablespoons of butter in a saucepan. Once your chicken is ready, dry them and put them in a bowl with about ¼- ½ cup white wheat or whole wheat flour, 1 teaspoon salt, and ½ teaspoon cayenne pepper. Mix and coat well. Place in a well greased 9×13 pan and pour the butter mixture on top of it. I usually sprinkle a little more cayenne pepper on it. Place in the oven for 30 minutes. Once you have about 5-10 minutes left, melt ½ cup butter, ¼ cup sucanat, ¼ cup honey, 1/3 cup lemon, 1 tablespoon soy sauce, and 1 ½ curry powder together. Once the chicken has finished, take it out of the oven and smell that wonderful goodness. Take it ALL in. I promise you won’t regret it. In fact, if you want to open the oven every 5 minutes to smell it that’s ok, too. Anyways, when you take it out you’ll pour this next mixture on top of it. It will pop and sizzle and smell even better than before which to me seemed impossible. The recipe says to bake it another 30 minutes but we have come to find that the longer you cook it, the better. Our normal is 45 minutes. One night we went out for a walk and (accidentally) left it cooking for a whole hour and that even tasted amazing. I’m not sure there’s anyway to do this wrong!

Curried Chicken (original picture from Taste of Home magazine)

Curried Chicken               (original picture from Taste of Home magazine

Once you’ve got it cooked as long as you want (at least 30 minutes please), take it out and take another moment to take in the aroma. I would even take a moment to offer up a prayer of thanksgiving. It’s that stinkin’ good. We love to make brown rice to go along with it and put a piece of chicken on top of it with some of the crispy flour flakes that have fallen off in the sauce and baked. My mouth is watering just thinking about this. This is one of the first meals I made for JR while we’re were dating and I’ve questioned some of this is the main reason he married me. Either way, we both get to enjoy it so I can live with that! I hope this makes a great meal for your family and makes you think of my awesome momma.

Momma’s Curried Chicken

  • 2-4 boneless, skinless chicken breast
  • ½ cup white wheat or whole wheat flour
  • 1 tsp salt
  • ½ tsp cayenne pepper + ¼ cayenne pepper, separated
  • 4 tbsp butter + ½ cup butter, separated (use REAL butter please,)
  • ¼ cup sucanat
  • ¼ cup honey (we prefer local grown)
  • ¼ cup lemon juice (fresh is even better)
  • 1 tbsp soy sauce (low sodium, please)
  • 1-1 ½ tsp curry powder

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Melt 4 tbsp butter in a saucepan. In a separate bowl, mix together flour, salt, and cayenne pepper. Mix chicken in dry mixture and place in a well greased 9×13 pan. Pour the butter mixture over and sprinkle with remaining cayenne pepper. Place in the oven for 30 minutes. When you have 5-10 minutes remaining, put the remaining butter, sucanat, honey, lemon juice, soy sauce, and curry powder in a saucepan and mix until all is melted. Pour oven chicken and cook for a remaining 30-45 minutes. Place over a bed of brown rice and enjoy!

 

3 Responses to “Momma’s Curried Chicken”

  1. Donna Lynn Puckett Says:

    You, are an amazing daughter, wife, and mother!
    I am so glad you love this dish as it is the favorite of the entire Puckett clan.
    Thank you for being who you are.
    Love,
    Momma

  2. […] was a good day at the Linkous house when we make my momma’s curry chicken. It’s seriously a little taste of heaven. When we first started this coconut flour recipe road, I […]


Leave a Reply

