Embracing Everything Emma

Enjoying Life One Baby Step at a Time…

Wee Cycle It- Game Plan February 28, 2013

wee cycle it

For those of you who have been following me for more than a day, you know my deep obsession with Wee Cycle It. Yes, I admit it. I’m hugely addicted to great deals and Wee Cycle It might just be the king of that. I’ve never seen such low prices on such great quality items. Today, I want to share with you a few secrets about how I shop Wee Cycle It and how you should shop it, too.

Make a list. It’s always wise to prepare for what you want in advance. I begin making my list at the end of the last sale and work on it usually up until the day before (minor editing then). I start with the things I didn’t get that I would still want at the next sale along with things I did get that I’ll need again (ie: clothes in different sizes). This list is also broke down into an “optional” section of things I’ll get if money allows. If you know what you want, it makes it a lot easier to do the next…

Set a budget. When I say this, I’m not saying to simply plan on spending $150. That’s too broad and you may end up spending $150 on a huge air hockey table that you didn’t even need. Look at your list and determine how much you’re willing to spend for the items and allow that to determine your budget. This should be the top price you’re comfortable with spending. Agree with yourself that you won’t go over or otherwise your budget may not work. I also like to keep in mind that if it’s just a few dollars less than new, I’m buying new. There’s no point in buying used if it’s so ridiculously close to the price of a brand new item.

Learn the floor plan. Wee Cycle It, and most consignment sales like it, provide you with a map or description of the floor plan for all their sale items. It’s smart to know where to find the bed sheets instead of walking through the clothes and toys before stumbling upon it. We like to not only look at this plan but the pictures that are posted in advance. This way we know what’s available so far and where it’s located.We love the pictures. It really is like Christmas for grown-ups.

Make a “priority” list. If you know that you NEED a new pack and play and that’s a top selling item, go there first! Don’t browse through the 20 pairs of Gymboree 2T jeans. Go straight to the pack and plays! This way you don’t trade what you need for what you want and didn’t need at all. You will have serious buyer’s remorse. No joke.

Be willing to go off the beaten path. Once you’ve gone through your list and are finished shopping for those things, if you have any extra funds budgeted or lucked out with some really cheap items, be sure to check out the items that are still available and if there’s anything you want. We usually get the clothes we “need” the first night and then save our money to come back for the ½ price sale. The things we don’t “need” may or may not be there. Good thing is, we don’t need them but if we want them, what a deal we’ll get! I got over 20 clothing items last year for dirt cheap on the ½ price day. I was excited to say the least.

How do you shop consignment sales? What have been some of your best finds?

Be sure to check out some of my previous Wee Cycle It posts:

Wee Cycle It- Fall Deals 2012

It’s Here! It’s Here!

 

Leave a Reply

