Embracing Everything Emma

Enjoying Life One Baby Step at a Time…

Chocolate Avocado Pudding- Manic Monday Series March 4, 2013

This weekend, I decided that I was going to make Emma some food in advance and one of the things I decided on was something with avocados. Emma use to LOVE avocados but her love has changed as she’s grown. It breaks my heart. I still want to sneak in the health benefits of them but how? I’ll tell you how: Chocolate Avocado Pudding! Join me today as I share with you how to make a healthy dessert that tastes just as good as the “real” thing!

photo-58

I was amazed by how easy this recipe was. I found it on Pinterest from The Back Burner and couldn’t believe it only called for four ingredients. That’s it! And for me, they were all ingredients I regularly have at the house (other than the avocado). They are:

Ingredients minus the avocado

Ingredients minus the avocado

1 avocado

¼ cup cocoa powder (or carob powder)

3 tbsp honey

1 tbsp vanilla extract

photo-59

I pulled out my trusty avocado peeler that I got free from pampered chef. I really like how it works but I’ll tell you a secret- you don’t have to have one. I just use it since I have it but a knife and spoon will work just as well. I went to town peeling my avocado and taking the seed out. I’m always amazed by how small an avocado is and how HUGE that seed is. It’s a little ridiculous if you ask me. Anyways, mash up your avocado good and then mix it your other 3 ingredients. That’s it! It is seriously that easy. I whisked mine together and had to spend a lot of time breaking up the chunks of cocoa powder that were left. There’s nothing like biting into a piece of cocoa powder. Ick. The only thing I would do differently next time is I will probably make a bigger batch serving (sorry Farris) and put it in the blender for better and quicker mixing. I heart my cuisinart blender. It seriously rocks my face off.

photo-57

And that’s it! How easy was that? I was really impressed with the taste but brought it to JR for a second opinion. He loved it, too! I knew it would be a win for all the Linkous’ and it sure was. I’m glad we’ve found an healthy alternative for a regularly over-processed dessert (which I will still gladly eat when served- I love pudding!).

My only dishes!

My only dishes!

Join us next week for our Manic Monday Meal- Russian Salad Dressing from Stacy Makes Cents. YUM!!!

________________________________________________________________________________________

Avocado Chocolate Pudding – revised from The Back Burner

1 avocado

¼ cup cocoa powder (or carob powder)

3 tbsp honey

1 tbsp vanilla extract

Peel and deseed avocado (is “deseed” a real word? I guess so). Mash up avocado and then add in cocoa powder, honey and vanilla extract. Mix well. If desired, you can use your blender for this mixing. Let chill in the fridge for an hour prior to serving.

 

One Response to “Chocolate Avocado Pudding- Manic Monday Series”

  1. I have a similar recipe pinned but haven’t tried it yet.


Leave a Reply

