Embracing Everything Emma

Enjoying Life One Baby Step at a Time…

Russian Salad Dressing- Manic Monday Series March 11, 2013

Today’s post is from one of my best friends, Stacy, of Stacy Makes Cents. Stacy is such an awesome woman and I hope you enjoy her guest post as I enjoy her in general! She will continue in her series of Cooking Through Stacy’s Stash today with a recipe for Russian Salad Dressing. I can’t wait to try this one!  Be sure to check her out her blog

Russing-Salad-Dressing

I love Ranch. If someone threw me in a vat of Ranch dressing to drown me, I would survive. I would eat my way out. True story. All that is to say that I very rarely venture out past ranch salad dressing. It’s my salad topping of choice.
But, I wanted to try something different – so I decided to make this Russian Salad Dressing. Why? Who knows – except Barry studied in Russia for a bit, so I’m always intrigued by Russian things – especially those stacking dolls (Barry edit: they’re called Matryoshka dolls…sheesh). Come to think of it, who even knows if this is REALLY “Russian?” Could be like French Fries which aren’t really French. Or French Toast. That’s messed up.

Cookbook

In Cooking Through Stacy’s Stash this week we’re tackling this cookbook from New Orleans. Apparently New Orleans people are up close and personal with Russians…or something. Cookin’ New Orleans Style was a gift to Barry and me from his high school/college friend, Will. Will’s grandparents lived in New Orleans. Will also gave Barry a hideously ugly armadillo figurine…which was promptly excommunicated from our home – and resides with Barry in his work office. That’s where armadillos belong – not on my mantle. Amen.

Once Barry went to Mardi Gras with Will. That was BS – Before Stacy. I think they observed some pretty wild and crazy things…and nakedness. From other people, not them. At least I don’t think it was them. Anyway – it cemented in my mind that Mardi Gras is not the place for me. I like seeing people with their clothing on (Barry edit 2: no nakedness was witnessed while Barry was at Mardi Gras – true story).

Recipe

This is one of those cookbooks that you keep because of sentimental value – not because you’re going to cook something out of it. Most of the recipes in here involve crawfish, shrimp, and crab. And let me tell ya – it’s not easy to get a hold of GOOD seafood in Southwest Virginia. Trout, yes. Crab, no.

So, I had a hard time finding a recipe for y’all in here…then I saw this recipe for Russian Dressing and decided to give it a go. It was very easy.

Mayo

This recipe called for chili sauce, which I don’t buy…and white sugar, and only one tablespoon each of green pepper, onion, and pimento. I’m not sure about you guys, but I’m not going to spend time chopping 1 tablespoon of onion or pepper. Yes, I could have chopped a whole one, but I didn’t really feel like it – and it seemed needless. So, I left those out. Rebel.

I used stevia instead of sugar, left out the small amounts of veggies, made my own “chili sauce” and used dried minced onion. Our family uses Safflower Mayonnaise since we try to avoid canola oil because it’s usually rancid. This is my favorite brand – you can find it at Kroger.

Immersion Blender

I used my Oster immersion blender which happens to be one of my favorite kitchen tools. However, a regular blender would work just fine too.

Verdict? This is FABULOUS! We were huge fans – I can tell this is going to be a regular around the Myers home. And I love that it’s so easy to whip together.

Join us next week at Embracing Everything for Manic Monday as we discuss how to make Bourbon Glazed Salmon. Yum!

Salad Dressing

Russian Salad Dressing

2/3 cup mayonnaise
1/3 cup ketchup
½ teaspoon chili powder
¼ teaspoon allspice
½ teaspoon dried minced onion
8 drops liquid stevia (or 1 tbsp sugar)
½ tablespoon apple cider vinegar
½ teaspoon Worcestershire sauce

Combine all, using immersion blender or regular blender. Chill at least 1 hour before serving.
Yield: 1 cup

cookingthroughstacysstash

 

6 Responses to “Russian Salad Dressing- Manic Monday Series”

  1. Thanks for having me! 🙂

  2. Fay Says:

    Copied that recipe, sounds like a good one. I too, get bored using the same salad dressing over and over.
    Faylee James

  3. Lori Says:

    So does this taste kind of like French dressing? And, Stacy, do you have a recipe for ranch? I tried a whole bunch of ranch recipes last summer, but I didn’t like any of them. Thanks for the recipe!


Leave a Reply

