Embracing Everything Emma

Enjoying Life One Baby Step at a Time…

Welcome to Cloth Diapering! March 14, 2013

My First "Stash" of Cloth Diapers

My First “Stash” of Cloth Diapers

Let’s just be up front and honest here. Emma is not a newborn. She is not 6 months old. She’s not even a year old. She is 18 months old. And at 18 months, I decided to make the switch to cloth diapers. I say “I” because JR still isn’t sure about this switch. He’s an awesome husband and dad, though, and bought me my first set of diapers (24 pocket diapers and 48 inserts- Kawaii brand) and moved right into the cloth diaper world- poop and all. He hasn’t really complained at all. Today, I wanted to share with you how it’s going after 48 hours of cloth diapering here at the Linkous house. Here we go!

My large order took some time to get here (they were from a wholesaler in Canada) and when they arrived on Monday, I went straight to washing. I rinsed, I washed, I rinsed, I dried, and then repeated. I went ahead and washed some trainers I had, too, since they go through the same process. I folded them and looked at this new adventure. I then realized I needed a place to store this new adventure and went into cleaning out drawers in Emma’s room. Luckily, we had already cleaned out her winter clothes so I had some room to spare. Her top drawer of her changing table is where they go and all fit. Perfect! I went ahead and put a few together for the next day and laid out all the liners and the diaper pail and liner inside. Perfect again! I was ready for Tuesday morning.

Emma rockin' her butt fluff

Emma rockin’ her butt fluff

When we awoke, I dressed Emma up in a cute tunic, leggings, and her first cloth diaper. Super cute! We went to my morning meeting and then to Target to pick up some things for work. While there, Emma had her first cloth diaper change and it went well. She just went #1 so clean up was a breeze. I changed the diaper, wiped her off, and put the used diaper in her travel wet bag. When we got home, we put it in her diaper pail and then I noticed something I had seen many times before. Emma was making her poop face. Here we go! Our first poop in the cloth diaper. This one was super easy. It just fell right out into the toilet and we went on our way. We went to meet JR (with new diapers in her diaper bag and on the changing table for later) and trade off while I went to my next meeting, sans baby.

What happened next is what I would call a bit of a disaster in cloth diapering 101. I forgot to explain to JR to ability to use liners. And Emma pooped. A lot. It was sticky and wet and just gross. And all over my brand new diaper. When I got home, I showed him the disposable and fleece liners. I think I may have lost some points by NOT doing this first. And a busy load of diaper washing come Friday afternoon.

Wednesday came and went in about the same way, but with liners instead. Emma really has embraced cloth diapers 100% and doesn’t act like anything new is going on. I can’t imagine that they don’t feel better than her previous option. Truthfully, I would sleep on a (clean) cloth diaper they’re so comfy.  We’re moving full speed ahead on the cloth diaper train and I’m so glad we did! It has made a world of a difference in our lives already, including our budget. We were looking at spending another $300+ before Emma was potty trained, and now we’ve just spent $200. That’s nuts because what we’ve bought will be covering us for baby number 2 as well. This is the last we’ll spend on diapers unless we just want more. I even invested in a great deal from someone with prefolds, covers, and extra inserts. Hoping they’ll be here this week 🙂

So now I want to hear from you. What’s your advice for this new to cloth diapering momma?

 

6 Responses to “Welcome to Cloth Diapering!”

  1. Yolanda Says:

    I really enjoyed reading this post and I am SO proud of you! My (6) children are all grown up and married now. Needless to say, I used cloth diapers. There were no fitted diapers in those days. I had two favorites… one was the prefolded guaze and the others were squares of white terry cloth. I think that disposable liners were available, but I didn’t use them. Money was always a little scarce. I loved diapering my babies. I didn’t mind at all, and with proper folding and pinning, the diapers fitted just fine. We started out with plastic diaper covers. Later on, I started making my own “soakers”, some of which I knitted from handspun woolen yarn and some I made from wool sweaters that I felted in the washer and then cut and sewed. I miss those days so much. I cried when I put my diaper bag away for the last time. Enjoy these years. After all, what’s a little poop between friends? 🙂

  2. Kelly Says:

    Looking forward to our adventure cloth diapering a newborn! Sounds like I need to invest in some disposable liners, though!

  3. 🙂 I enjoyed using them yesterday. I just LOVE my butt fluff.


Leave a Reply

