Embracing Everything Emma

Enjoying Life One Baby Step at a Time…

Homemade Honey Mustard Dressing- Manic Monday Series March 25, 2013

I’m sure you all are wondering what’s up with me and all the salad dressings here lately. Well, I LOVE salad. And I love dressings. Simple as that. One of my absolute favorite dressings to make it honey mustard. I love it in restaurants or at the store, but there’s nothing that compares to the taste of homemade. My favorite recipe is one that I was certain belonged to my momma. She made it for so many years that I guess it was just instilled in my head that she had created this recipe. Is it a true fact that this recipe does not belong to my mother. It was actually a recipe from mom’s Junior Woman’s cookbook created by my mom’s best friend, Debbie. So, thanks Debbie!

Junior Woman's Club of Abingdon Cookbook Circa 1991

Junior Woman’s Club of Abingdon Cookbook Circa 1991

Let’s get cooking, shall we?

You start with a few ingredients. I say the less the better. For this recipe, you need stuff that most people have in their pantry: mayonnaise, sugar, honey, mustard, white vinegar, parsley, and oil. I adapted mine a little bit. We have switched to Safflower Mayonnaise. I also used sucanat, Annie’s natural mustard, and olive oil for my oil choice. I didn’t think coconut oil would be as good since it hardens at room temperate, much less when I put it in the fridge.

I started by measuring out 3 cups of mayonnaise. I felt a lot better doing it knowing the mayo was better for us. By the way, have I ever said here that I don’t like mayonnaise? Because I absolutely DO NOT. I can tolerate it in other things but can’t stand it alone. It really grossed me out even doing this part. Luckily, I love honey mustard so I was able to look past this.

Next, you add in 1/3 cup of sucanat, ½ cup honey (raw is best), ¼ cup mustard, ¼ cup white vinegar, ¼ cup parsley, and 1 cup of oil (I prefer olive). Whisk it really well. The last thing you want is a chunk of mayo on your salad (yuck!). I actually whisked mine a little in between each ingredient to help. My favorite part is adding the oil. You can see it separate and it looks crazy! This part needs to be whisked the most to make sure it’s blended properly.

Voila! Homemade Honey Mustard

Voila! Homemade Honey Mustard

Once done, this will store perfectly in a large mason jar. It equals to 4 cups. I recommend storing it in the fridge to chill for at least 1 hour prior to serving.I usually let it chill for at least half a day.

The best part of this dressing is that it’s not only good on salad but with chicken of any kind. If you want to make some crusted chicken, it tastes REALLY good with that. Yum! Maybe that’s what I should make for dinner? I imagine it would taste well with other things, too, like crusted fish. Yum, yum, yum!

I hope you enjoy this recipe and join us back next Monday as I share a salad continuation for Manic Monday- toppings you can add to salads to make them work with almost any meal. See you there!

*********************************************************************************************************************

Honey Mustard Dressing, Revised from Junior Woman’s Club of Abingdon Cookbook (Debbie Harvey)

3 cups of mayonnaise

1/2 cup sucanat

1/2 cup honey (raw is best)

1/4 cup mustard

1/4 cup white vinegar

1/4 cup parsley

1 cup olive oil

Combine all ingredients, with oil going last. Blend well. Put in fridge at least 1 hour prior to serving. Yields 4 cups.

 

Leave a Reply

