Embracing Everything Emma

Enjoying Life One Baby Step at a Time…

Manic Monday- Whole Wheat Coconut Chocolate Chip Cookie Cake April 1, 2013

The Masterpiece! (why yes, that IS a Thanksgiving plate)

The Masterpiece!                                               (why yes, that IS a Thanksgiving plate)

I love when I stumble upon an amazing recipe. Absolutely love it! We went to visit with my friend Stacy about a month ago and she fixed us an AMAZING dinner! We had Butternut Squash Casserole AND an amazing dessert- Whole Wheat Coconut Chocolate Chip Cookie Cake. Say that twenty times in a row. It’s just not possible. Want to know what is possible? Fixing this dish. It is SO very easy and taste SO very good! She found this recipe from Bran Appetit and I knew I just had to try it, too! I wanted to share it with you today because it is indeed a Manic Monday recipe. Join me!

Ingredients, Minus Eggs

Ingredients, Minus Eggs

Start out with all your ingredients. They are simple ingredients, too. You will need butter (real butter!), sugar, flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, vanilla extract, eggs, semi-sweet chocolate chips, and shredded coconut. I had everything in stock and didn’t need to buy anything at all. I love those kind of recipes more than anything else. I sat everything out in advance and let my butter soften. That part is important, too!

My KitchenAid Stand Mixer

My KitchenAid Stand Mixer

Start out by mixing together your butter and sugar. Once it’s mixed well, add it your vanilla extract and eggs. The last thing you’ll do is add the remaining ingredients: flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and then chocolate chips and coconut last. My stand mixer shook a little with all the stuff in their but she did the trick. I love her. I haven’t named her yet, but I do love her. Isn’t she a beauty?

Pat, Pat, Pat!

Pat, Pat, Pat!

Once all this is mixed together, grease your skillet and pat the mixture into it. Or in my case, your glass dish. I don’t have a round skillet but I did have a round glass dish and figured it would do just as good of a job (and it did!). Once you have it layered well, it will go in the oven for 30-40 minutes at 350 degrees. Keep in mind that this will NOT be a wet dish, it’s more dry than wet. It makes it really easy to mold and move around. Once it’s set, it browns nicely and both times, mine only took 30 minutes to make all the way through. It tastes REALLY good warm. Oh so good! It tastes good cold, too, so it’s definitely a dish that can be eaten both ways.

I love cooking with dry ingredients!

I love cooking with dry ingredients! Mostly clean bowl 🙂

I made this for dessert this Easter and my family LOVED it. It was a hit for not only them, but me as well. I was really glad I attempted this dish and we’ll be making it again soon. I would recommend making this when you plan on feeding multiple people or otherwise you’ll be bringing home or keeping a lot of cookie cake. If you want to eat a lot of cookie cake then you’re good. If not, heed my word!

Happy Easter from the Linkous'!

Happy Easter from the Linkous’!

I hope you all had a Happy Easter and I look forward seeing you next week for another Manic Monday meal- what to add as toppings to your salad (the post from this week got delayed-oops!).

***********************************************************************************************************************

Whole Wheat Coconut Chocolate Chip Cookie Cake, Adapted from Bran Appetit

▪                8 ounces (or 2 sticks) butter, softened, plus the wrappers for greasing your pan

▪                2 cups sucanat (or split between brown sugar & white sugar)

▪                2 teaspoons vanilla extract

▪                2 eggs (free range are ideal)

▪                3 cups whole wheat flour (I did 1 ½ cups whole wheat & 1 ½ cups coconut- NOT correct- don’t make my mistake!)

▪                1 ½ teaspoon baking powder

▪                ¾ teaspoon baking soda

▪                1 teaspoon salt

▪                2 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips (or carob chips)

▪                1 cup shredded coconut

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees. Grease your skillet or dish with butter wrapper. Mix butter and sucanat together until well blended. Add in the vanilla extract and eggs until mixed. Pour in the flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt and mix again until a doughy-consistency is made. Once it is well mixed (2-3 minutes in a stand mixer), add the chocolate chips & coconut flakes. Put your dough into the skillet or dish and spread into an even layer. Bake for 30-40 minutes until golden brown (I started checking at 30 minutes). Allow 10 minutes to cool prior to serving. Tastes GREAT with ice cream. Yum! Makes 12-16 servings, depending on the size of cookie cut.

 

3 Responses to “Manic Monday- Whole Wheat Coconut Chocolate Chip Cookie Cake”

  1. so glad you liked the cookie cake!

  2. […] $10 off your first order of $30+ by signing up here. One of our first experiences was when I made a Coconut cookie cake. I made it the first time with almond flour and had a great experience. The second time with […]


Leave a Reply

