Embracing Everything Emma

Enjoying Life One Baby Step at a Time…

Why I Do What I Do April 4, 2013

Photo by Work Smart Mompreneurs

Photo by Work Smart Mompreneurs

Let’s be honest here. I do a lot around our house. I do a lot just about everywhere I go. As a full time working mom, my wheels go round for hours and I work into the night as well as first thing in the morning. I chuckle a little when I’m asked now because believe you me, my answer could go on and on for hours. Usually, however, I just say something like “because I want to” or “because it’s best for my family”. That’s about it. Here are a few of my favorite “why” questions I get asked:

Why do you cloth diaper?

And further more: why did you switch to cloth diapers NOW?

Why do you eat organic?

Why do you eat whole foods?

Why do you spend $8+ on maple syrup/honey/etc?

Why do you cook things from scratch?

Why do you (did you) pump?

Why do you give your daughter whole milk?

Why, why, why….

For my family, I know I spend more time doing stuff that takes time than taking the easy way out. Some times I’m ready to throw in the towel and go buy 2 weeks worth of frozen pizzas and be done with it. And then I see my sweet little girl and know this is NOT the path I want to take. Sometimes the path that is best for us takes more time and that’s why I do what I do. I love my family and for us, we feel these are the things that are important for us to have a long, healthy, and happy life. My goal is to live long enough to watch my grandchildren get married and possibly have their own children, too. I don’t think it’s too much to ask. These are the main reasons why I do what I do:

To keep my family healthy

To keep my family safe

To keep my family happy

To sleep more soundly at night

To keep in line with what I’ve read/studied

To keep my integrity

To follow what I believe the Bible has called me to do as a mom/homemaker

What I would encourage you all to do from here is not to just follow me. Research it and make your own decisions. Don’t take anything for face value. Find out what is best for you, your kids, your spouse, and go from there. It may cost you more now but I’ve learned it will save us in the long run. For example, Emma hasn’t had a sick doctor’s visit in over a year. I haven’t had one in about two years. Will we get sick again? You betcha but our amount of time sick has drastically lowered which in turn has paid for what we’ve spent more on in healthy items.

What about you? What is your favorite why question to get asked?

 

5 Responses to “Why I Do What I Do”

  1. Why can’t Annie have this sugary dessert full of food coloring?

  2. hannahbshort Says:

    Why am I still nursing Maddox? (Is nursing at 7 months really that weird? Lol)
    That’s the number one question I get asked!
    I agree with you, I definitely don’t take the easy way out, but for me when I rely on God to guide me He gives me the BEST path not the easiest which I’m thankful for!

  3. […] many of you know, the Linkous family does whole foods (most of the time). We watch what we eat and what we buy. We are working to create a healthier […]


Leave a Reply

