Embracing Everything Emma

Enjoying Life One Baby Step at a Time…

Salad Toppings- Manic Monday Series April 8, 2013

I have talked A LOT recently about salad dressings during our Manic Monday series and I thought it would be appropriate to also discuss some of our favorite salad toppings. Sometimes it’s just not enough to have lettuce and dressing. Sometimes you need just a little bit more. Today I’m going to give you some ideas and encourage you to branch out and try new things! Let’s get started.

Dried CranberriesPhoto by Cran Moms

Dried Cranberries
Photo by Cran Moms

Cranberries! We LOVE cranberries at the Linkous house. In our cookies AND on our salads. You don’t need a specific brand although we buy ours at the Amish store because they’re cheaper. The great thing is that you don’t have to do a thing with them. Just open up the bag/box and pour them on top of your salad. Mix it up if you’d like or leave it right on top to look pretty. Yum yum!

Nuts. I’m picky about my nuts that I put on salads but I really, really like toasted almonds. They taste really great, especially if you’re adding cranberries! I also like crushed walnuts on a strawberry salad. That’s about it but you can pick from just about any nut you like- pine nuts, peanuts, cashews, pistachios, and more.

Pumpkin SeedsPhoto by Delicious As It Looks

Pumpkin Seeds
Photo by Delicious As It Looks

Seeds. Another good choice! I really like toasted sesame seeds on top of anything but have found a new love in pumpkin seeds. I don’t like them on my salad straight from the pumpkin, I’m talking about what you can get in the store. Once again, we also get ours from the Amish store. Another good seed to use is sunflower seeds. They are great on just about any salad, too!

Cheeses.I love to explore with new cheeses, especially on top of my salad. One of my favorite things to do is buy cheese in the block and freshly grate it on top of my salad. Call me crazy, but I think it tastes better that way. Olive Garden has corrupted me. I can eat pre-grated cheese, but it’s just not the same.

BeansPhoto by At Your Palate

Beans
Photo by At Your Palate

Beans. Let’s be honest here- some people don’t like beans. If you fall into this category, skip below. If you like them or can tolerate them, consider adding them to your salad. They offer a lot of protein and are a cheap alternative to meats like chicken or beef. Also, you can mix it up and make a taco salad if you’re on the line about adding beans to your salad.

Fruits and veggies. One of my all-time favorite toppings on a good summer salad is strawberries. They taste sooo good! I am not above any fruit on my salad or really any veggie. Other than mushrooms. Yuck. I not only do not like mushrooms but I am scared of them. Please do not put one in my salad. The options are limitless with fruits- strawberries, blueberries, kiwi, apples,  grapes, raspberries, etc- and veggies- peppers (of all kind), snapeas, broccoli, carrots, tomatoes, etc.

So, go pick up some lettuce and start fixing some yummy greens!

Design by Abingdon Farmer's Market

Design by Abingdon Farmer’s Market

Also, if you’re local remember that the Abingdon Farmer’s Market will begin their summer market next Saturday, April 20th. You don’t want to miss it! They have great local options for you from lettuce to fruits to veggies and more! See you there!

 

Leave a Reply

