Embracing Everything Emma

Enjoying Life One Baby Step at a Time…

Spicy Pancakes- Coconut Flour Series April 15, 2013

Love at First Sight...or Bite?

Love at First Sight…or Bite?

Recently at the Linkous house, we have fallen in love with Coconut Flour. We order the “Let’s Do Organic!” brand from VItacost. If you’re interested in placing an order through them, you can get it for next to nothing along with some other great products as well as $10 off your first order of $30+ by signing up here. One of our first experiences was when I made a Coconut cookie cake. I made it the first time with almond flour and had a great experience. The second time with coconut flour, I didn’t realize the extreme ratio cut and it was definitely a dry cake but overall, still good. So that kept me going. Today, I come to you to say that we’ve grown in our understanding of coconut flour and experimenting with a lot of different recipes. In fact, Also, I’ve found that I really like the prices at Tropical Traditions for coconut flour because they sell it in bulk but alas, they are out of stock until May.

Our Ingredients

Our Ingredients

On to other things. Today I am beginning our series on coconut flour recipes with breakfast. We love breakfast here. Love it. Pancakes are among our favorite items so that’s the recipe I went with for this post. I am currently using a free ebook I received from Amazon, “40 Delicious Coconut Flour Recipes”, and highly recommend it. It’s only $2.99 regularly and the recipes so far have been great. I revised their Spicy Pancake recipe for ourselves. Let’s get started!

A Linkous Family Breakfast

A Linkous Family Breakfast

Start out heating your skillet on medium. Take the ingredients listed and mix together either by hand or in your mixer. I chose the latter. If you’re using a hand mixer or even doing a whisk, you may want to add the ingredients one at a time. With my awesome KitchenAid, I just threw it all in together. Once it’s mixed well and there aren’t any lumps remaining, pour around ¼ cup onto the skillet. It only takes about a minute (maybe less) before it’s ready to flip. Cook until light brown on both sides and then move to the next one. This recipe made about 6 pancakes, 4 medium and 2 small. And let me just tell you- they were delicious. They weren’t spicy, really, but I guess that comes from someone who cooks with cinnamon and nutmeg almost daily. If it’s new for you, it definitely might add a little kick. We put coconut oil on ours instead of butter and let it melt. It was delicious. We ordered some coconut butter from Vitacost to use for next time. I seriously cannot wait!

Join me tomorrow as I share the next of our Coconut Flour Recipes- Coconut Sandwich Wraps. See you there!

*******************************************************************************************

Spicy Pancakes (revised from “40 Delicious Coconut Flour Recipes“ by Sarah Stevens)

**Please note if you buy this book that some of our ratios/ingredients are different**

¼ cup coconut  milk

1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 tablespoon raw honey

1/2 teaspoon nutmeg

¼ cup coconut flour (I used the “Let’s Do Organic!” brand)

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

4 eggs

Coconut oil for topping (optional as a “lighter” topping)

Directions: Whisk eggs together until blended and then add coconut milk, vanilla, honey, and whisk again. Add in the coconut flour and spices and mix well until no lumps remain.  Heat up skillet and grease with butter (we did coconut oil). Pour ¼ batter onto the skillet cook until golden/light brown on both sides. Voila! You can also add fresh fruit, butter, peanut butter, honey, maple syrup, coconut butter, or anything else as a topping.

 

2 Responses to “Spicy Pancakes- Coconut Flour Series”

  1. […] know of my love for coconut flour. If you don’t, be sure to check out yesterday’s post about Spicy Pancakes. Super yummy! Today, we’re moving onto lunch (or a light meal). And let me just tell you, this […]


Leave a Reply

