Embracing Everything Emma

Enjoying Life One Baby Step at a Time…

Coconut Sandwich Wraps- Coconut Flour Series April 16, 2013

My Masterpiece!

My Masterpiece!

By day two, surely you all know of my love for coconut flour. If you don’t, be sure to check out yesterday’s post about Spicy Pancakes. Super yummy! Today, we’re moving onto lunch (or a light meal). And let me just tell you, this totally rocked my socks off. I have wanted to stop eating processed wraps for awhile and after finding them, I realized they’re not cheap. My next step was making them myself. When I got my wonderful cookbook on cooking with coconut flour, I found a recipe for Coconut Sandwich Wraps. I decided to go for it. Today, I want to walk you through what that looks like. Be prepared to be in awe of the awesomeness….

 

The Ingredients

The Ingredients (minus the rosemary-oops)

I started out with my ingredients and as usual, I just threw them all in my handy-dandy KitchenAid mixer. If I could marry it, I probably would. If you’re doing it by hand or with a hand mixer, you might want to do 1 or 2 ingredients at a time. Once everything is well blended, make sure you turn on your skillet. Yes, I forgot to do that step and wondered why it was so cold. Luckily, I hadn’t put my mix on it or I probably would have died a little inside. After it warmed up, I threw on my coconut oil and let it grease the skillet well. It looked beautiful. I poured about ¼ of the mixture onto the pan and let it cook until the edges were ready to flip (around 45 seconds to a minute). They were gorgeous! I love when I go to flip something on the skillet and it doesn’t fall into a million pieces. Or a big puddle. Praise God for this piece of art! Once all were cooked, I stored them in a container in the fridge. I’m sure they could have stayed out but I’m weird about stuff like that so in the fridge they went.

Come to Mama!

Come to Mama!

I decided we were doing turkey wraps with these. We have fallen in love with Walnut Creek Cajun Turkey and buy it religiously. I decided to put it on the wrap with some lettuce and parmesan cheese (freshly grated, of course!). And for my favorite part- I made homemade ranch dressing. Yes I did. I found a recipe several months ago and put together the dry ingredients for such a time as this. I pulled it out of storage and mixed up a fresh cup of ranch dressing to put on the wrap and luckily had enough left for 3-4 more. And what did I think? The best. Wrap. Ever! I was extremely impressed. We were worried the wrap would taste like eggs (we like eggs but not when I’m expecting a wrap) but it didn’t. I would highly recommend them and if you could make them in bulk and freeze them, even better! Quick note here: be sure to press them as they’re cooking because they thicken up QUICKLY. I missed it on my first few but got the hang of it after that.

I hope you enjoy BOTH of these recipes (a double win)!

*******************************************************************************************

Coconut Sandwich Wraps (revised from “40 Delicious Coconut Flour Recipes“ by Sarah Stevens)

**Please note if you buy this book that some of our ratios/ingredients are different**

2 ounces (or 4 tablespoons) coconut flour

¼ teaspoon real salt

4 eggs

¼ cup coconut milk

¼ teaspoon rosemary

Coconut oil for skillet

Mix ingredients together and heat skillet to medium and grease well with coconut oil. Pour ¼ of mix onto the skillet and flip when edges are loose. Cook on each side until they are a light brown color. Serve with anything you’d like- turkey, ham, lettuce, the options are endless!

Homemade Ranch Dressing (revised from 5 Dollar Dinners)

2 tablespoons parsley

1/2 teaspoon dil

1 teaspoon garlic powder

1 teaspoon onion powder

1/2 teaspoon dried basil

1/2 teaspoon pepper

1/3 cup safflower mayonnaise (regular works, too)

1/4 cup milk

Mix dry ingredients up and stir together well. Shake some if you’d like, too. Store until ready to make. Once ready, add mayonnaise and milk and whisk well. Store in fridge to chill for an hour prior to serving if desired. Enjoy!

 

One Response to “Coconut Sandwich Wraps- Coconut Flour Series”


Leave a Reply

