Embracing Everything Emma

Enjoying Life One Baby Step at a Time…

Ginger Curry Chicken- Coconut Flour Series April 17, 2013

It was a good day at the Linkous house when we make my momma’s curry chicken. It’s seriously a little taste of heaven. When we first started this coconut flour recipe road, I decided I wanted to try a recipe I found for Ginger Curry Chicken. I was leery. We were already eating something so amazing that I was worried to stray. Come join me today as I share that yes, we did stray and what we thought!

*I’m not going to lie here. The recipe for the Ginger Curry Chicken sounded amazing but it called for some things I didn’t have on hand so I substituted. Substituting is ok to do! I will make mention at the bottom what you can use if you have it on hand or what you can use to substitute (like we did).

The Ingredients

The Ingredients

 

As I looked over this recipe, I kept getting more and more excited about it. I rarely, if ever, fix chicken on the stove so it was already an adventure from the start. I got my chicken out of the freezer and let it thaw. Let me stop here and saw that while I got out my chicken, it was luckily my day to clean the freezer, using my awesome list from Clean Mama. Thanks to Stacy for sharing this gem! Anyways, I let my chicken thaw while I cleaned the freezer. It actually wasn’t that bad so I was relived (the fridge was another story…). I also looked at my frozen ginger root and decided NOT to use it this time around. I hold onto it for a rainy day, aka something having the stomach bug. It scared me to think I would use it and start vomiting at 4am with no ginger to be found. Fear not though, it’s on my grocery store list to pick up new next month so I can use the old one to make this dish again.

Frying Some Chicken!

Frying Some Chicken!

I began by putting 3 tablespoons of coconut oil in my frying pan on medium heat. I love coconut oil. It totally rocks! In fact, I love it so much that I’ve been using a sample from Tropical Traditions and will be doing a review and giveaway in the very near future so stay posted! Anyways, once it was good and melted and the pan was ready for some healthy frying, I threw in the chicken. It sizzled and was amazing. I kept watching it and then realized I needed to add my spices. Oops. I threw in he curry powder, salt, pepper, garlic, onion powder, and ginger. I let it cook from just a minute and then added my two cups chicken stock and covered it. I went ahead and set the timer for 20 minutes. Let me just say here that if you’re starving, you will die waiting for this because it smells so stinkin’ good. JR and I kept talking about how good it smelt and would purposely go to the stove and stand beside it. We’re weird like that. Once it was cooked good and looked almost done, I threw in the mixed coconut flour and water to let it thicken. After about 5 more minutes, it was done and ready to go. We served it on a bed of basmati rice. Yum yum, yum. It seriously rocked. Oh, and you won’t be seeing a finished product. My phone died as I was taking the picture and when I charged it back, guess what? It wasn’t there. Oops.

Look at all those spices!

Look at all those spices!

My overall review of this item is that it’s really good! We’ve been spoiled by my mom’s recipe and I’m not going to lie, my mom does it better, however, it is a little spicy. So, if you don’t like something really spicy, this is the recipe to use. We will definitely be making this one again in the near future…after we make my mom’s again.

Enjoy!

*******************************************************************************************

Ginger Curry Chicken (revised from “40 Delicious Coconut Flour Recipes” by Sarah Stevens)

3 tablespoons coconut oil

1 tablespoon curry powder

½ teaspoon real salt

¼ teaspoon black pepper

½ teaspoon garlic powder (or 3 garlic cloves)

1 ½ teaspoons onion powder (or 1 fresh onion- finely chopped)

¼ teaspoon ginger (or 1 tablespoon ginger root)

6 pieces of chicken (we used chicken breast)

2 cups chicken stock

¼ cup water

1 oz (or 2 tbsp) coconut flour

Heat oil on medium heat and mix in spices. Add chicken and lightly brown. Add chicken stock, cover pan, and cook for 20 minutes. Mix flour and water together and pour in to thicken. Cook for 5-10 minutes longer without lid. Once done, the chicken can be served with rice, broccoli, carrots, and more! Yummy!

 

2 Responses to “Ginger Curry Chicken- Coconut Flour Series”

  1. […] it. There’s something scary to me about the unknown but that didn’t stop me this time (like the ginger root did yesterday). Today, I share with a recipe for Spinach Soufflé. Trust me, you’ll want to try […]


Leave a Reply

