Embracing Everything Emma

Enjoying Life One Baby Step at a Time…

Spinach Souffle- Coconut Flour Series April 18, 2013

So if you’re still with me, congratulations! Today is the day you learn how to make your 4th dish with coconut flour! This one by far  has been a favorite. Up until this point, I’ve never made any type of soufflé. Don’t get me wrong- I love French and everything with French words in it, but I’ve never attempted it. There’s something scary to me about the unknown but that didn’t stop me this time (like the ginger root did yesterday). Today, I share with a recipe for Spinach Soufflé. Trust me, you’ll want to try this one!

To start, let’s begin with the definition of soufflé for those of you who don’t know:

A light, fluffy baked dish made with egg yolks and beaten egg whites combined with various other ingredients and served as a main dish or sweetened as a dessert.

The Ingredients

The Ingredients

This recipe was very simple and called for very few ingredients. I needed to have cottage cheese, a grated cheese of my choice, spinach, eggs, coconut flour, and butter. I also decided to throw some sesame seeds into the mix. I’m not sure it made much of a different but it looks pretty. Does that count?

Looking good in the oven

Looking good in the oven

Anyways, you’ll start with melting your butter and then mixing it with all the other ingredients. How easy is that? Be sure that you preheat your oven to 350, grease a loaf pan, and then put your mixture into the oven for 60 minutes and take a nap. Or watch a tv show. Or clean up the yogurt from the couch, table, and floor that your daughter spilt and your dog was too lazy to clean up. Yep, guess which one I did? The only side note I have here is that mine needed to cook for closer to 70 minutes. I’m not sure why, but it did. It was way too giggly still at 60 minutes.

The FInished Product!

The Finished Product!

When we got this out, I’ll be honest that I was a little fearful. I’m not a huge cottage cheese fan and since I used a little more than a cup, I was worried it was going to taste like just a bowl of cottage cheese with spinach on top. I was wrong, way wrong. This dish was AMAZING and gave me a new found love for cottage cheese. Be sure to make it for dinner one night. I think it would also be great for a potluck style get together. Enjoy!

*******************************************************************************************

Spinach Souffle (revised from “40 Delicious Coconut Recipes” by Sarah Stevens)

1 cup (or 8 ounces) of cottage cheese (I used closer to 12- by accident- and really liked it)

3 eggs

3 tablespoons of butter

1 cup of grated cheese- your choice (I did parmesan and it was delicious)

1 tablespoon coconut flour

10 ounces spinach (I used 12 since my bag had 12)

Oil to grease pan

1-2 teaspoons toasted sesame seeds (optional)

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees. Melt your butter and then add to it your eggs and beat well. Next, add your cottage cheese and coconut flour. Once mixed well, stir in the spinach and grated cheese. Grease your loaf pan and add your mix. Cook for 60-70 minutes. Enjoy as a main dish or side!

 

One Response to “Spinach Souffle- Coconut Flour Series”


Leave a Reply

