Embracing Everything Emma

Enjoying Life One Baby Step at a Time…

Choconut Cookies- Coconut Flour Series April 19, 2013

Well, today is the big day. The final day of cooking with coconut flour. I’ve really enjoyed this series and hope you’ve enjoyed it, too. In case, you’ve missed any of them, here they are below:

Coconut Flour Series

Spicy Pancakes

Sandwich Wraps

Ginger Curry Chicken

Spinach Soufflé

photo-117

I made these cookies long before I planned on doing this series. Well, not long before, but still about a month beforehand. I wanted to make cookies for our small group, and knowing a girl in our group had nut allergies, I those this would be a good option. I planned for them to be healthy and maybe even a little healthy tasting. I was very pleased to find they didn’t taste like a health cookie, just a really good one. Win! We will definitely be making these again. Please note those that these are whole food style cookies so they won’t last for weeks on end, you will want to use them up within a few days.

The Ingredients

The Ingredients

To start, I got all the ingredients together and started mixing away.  This meal called for butter, vanilla, coconut flour, chocolate chips, cocoa powder, coconut cream, salt, eggs, sugar, and almonds. I decided to do coconut milk instead of cream (because it’s what I had), sucanat instead of sugar (because we don’t do white sugar), and no almonds. I just don’t LOVE them so I felt they would be best left out. When I initially made these I didn’t read how many cookies they made. 36 people. 36 cookies. I’m so glad I made these for our small group and not for home. I can’t imagine what we would have done with that many cookies. Well I can tell you what we’d do, we would eat them. It would have been a very bad thing. Even healthy recipes are only good in moderation. I would imagine that you could easily freeze these cookies so fear not, you can still use this recipe for a smaller group of people. Once these cooled a little, I went ahead and tried one. There was no way I would serve them to someone without sacrificing and trying one first. These cookies blew my mind. They were amazing! We will be making these regularly for get togethers and for ourselves, too, when we decide to do desserts. I would definitely recommend them if you’re craving something sweet but don’t want all the bad. It’s a nice treat for sure!

*******************************************************************************************

Final Product

Final Product

Choconut Cookies (revised from “40 Delicious Coconut Flour Recipes” by Sarah Stevens)

2 ½ ounces melted butter

1 ½ teaspoon vanilla

½ cup coconut flour

½ cup chocolate chips (or carob chips)

½ cup cocoa powder

¼ cup coconut cream (or coconut milk- it worked for us!)

½ teaspoon real salt

4 eggs

1 cup sugar (or sucanat)

Almonds (optional)

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Mix together cocoa powder and melted butter well. Add cream (or milk), vanilla, salt, and sweetener of choice. Add additional sweetener if needed. Add eggs and coconut flour and mix until smooth. Finally, mix in the chocolate (or carob) chips and allow to sit for 5 minutes. Grease cookie sheet or add wax paper and put about a teaspoon and a half of batter on the sheet for each cookie. Add an almond to the top of each one if desired. Bake for 12 minutes and allow to cool prior to serving.

*******************************************************************************************

ConfessionsofaClothDiaperConvert300x250Affiliate

Also, just a special update that THIS WEEKEND ONLY, “Confessions of a Cloth Diaper Convert” by Erin Odum will be available for 20% off the retail price ($9.95) in honor of Earth Day (Monday, April 22nd)! You can click on the link to the right of this post to purchase your copy starting tomorrow! The special code to use will be Earth Day. This is an amazing book for anyone cloth diapering, thinking about cloth diapering, or gifting for someone who is/will be cloth diapering. It’s also a great tribute to this weekend’s Great Cloth Diaper Change! Be sure to check it out!

Please not that I am an affiliate of this book but all opinions are my own. 

 

Leave a Reply

