Embracing Everything Emma

Enjoying Life One Baby Step at a Time…

Parmesan Meatloaf- Manic Monday Series May 6, 2013

Dinner at the Linkous house

Dinner at the Linkous house

As many of you know, the Linkous family is doing our whole food challenge for the month of May. So far, we’ve done really good. We have used two of our cheat meals as we were out of town over the weekend, but ate 4 of the 6 meals NOT out. I was proud of us! Anyways, when we returned from church Sunday we knew something good was on the meal plan. It is something new but no doubt sounded amazing. Join me today as I share how we made parmesan meatloaf!

My Ingredients

My Ingredients

I found this recipe from a fellow blogger, Mommy, I’m Hungry! They’re recipe is gluten free but I’ll be honest, I didn’t do gluten free. I used what I had, which is about normal for us. I began by changing the meat to venison. We mainly use venison here because it’s what we have AND we love it! I got a few pounds from my parents and put it in the crock to cook it. I usually cook it on high for a few hours and just watch it. I love that it doesn’t dry out but it doesn’t get greasy. What a win! The next thing I did, once it finished cooking, was add it to my mixer (I love it, too!) along with eggs, breadcrumbs (made from leftover whole wheat bread), dried basil, thyme, oregano, salt, pepper, and freshly grated parmesan cheese. It called for an onion and garlic but I didn’t have it on hand so I improvised with garlic and onion powder. Once I lightly mixed it, I put it into my greased pan and patted it out well. I added some canned tomatoes that mom and I did last year for my marinara sauce. I threw some of the spices on top of that, too. In the oven it went for 45 minutes. After it cooked, I added enough parmesan cheese to layer the top along with some parsley and cooked it for another 10 minutes.

photo-121

The verdict? Oh. My. Word. My momma makes the best meatloaf, hands down, but this is the closest second I’ve ever had. It was so moist and light and the tomato sauce on top was definitely an added bonus. It was definitely easy to fix and put together, which would be perfect for a night when you had a lot to do around the house. The dishes were minimal, too, which I loved. So, go out and get anything you need and make this dish. It will definitely be a regular repeat here!

*******************************************************************************************

Parmesan Meatloaf, revised from “Mommy, I’m Hungry!”

1 lb ground turkey & 1 lb ground beef (I did 2 lb ground venison instead)

2 eggs (we used farm fresh)

¼ cup gluten free breadcrumbs (I used whole wheat bread)

½ teaspoon dried basil

½ teaspoon thyme

½ teaspoon dried oregano

1-2 cloves garlic, finely minced (I did ½ teaspoon garlic powder)

1 small onion, grated (I did ½ teaspoon onion powder)

½ teaspoon salt (I used real salt)

¼ teaspoon black pepper

1 cup grated Parmesan cheese, separated (freshly grated is awesome)

½ cup marinara sauce (I used canned tomatoes & sprinkled some of the spices on top)

½ cup shredded Italian cheese blend (we used parmesan instead)

½ teaspoon minced parsley

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Lightly together ground meat, eggs, breadcrumbs, basil, thyme, oregano, garlic powder, onion powder, real salt, black pepper, and ½ parmesan cheese in your mixer (or by hand). Pour mixture into your greased loaf pan and pat well. Pour marinara sauce (or canned tomatoes) on top. Cook in oven for 45-60 minutes (I did 45). Add remaining parmesan cheese and parsley to the top and place back in the oven for 10 minutes. Remove and serve with side (we did peas- yum!).

 

Leave a Reply

