Embracing Everything Emma

Enjoying Life One Baby Step at a Time…

Homemade Applesauce- Manic Monday Series May 13, 2013

photo-126

Today I want to share an awesome secret with you. Are you ready? You don’t have to buy premade applesauce. Is that crazy? Let me just tell you, I was stoked when I found this recipe. I had made applesauce before but not like this. I was honestly tired of trying to find organic applesauce around here and the closest I could find was Trader Joes. Don’t get me wrong- it tastes GREAT but I live two hours away from one. I’m shedding a tear in case you can’t tell. Insert this recipe. I found one that rocks our socks off and is super easy to make. Come make homemade applesauce with me today!

photo-125

Start by peeling and coring your apples. I use the peeler every time and have cut the core out with a corer and buy hand. I can’t decide which is easier. Either way, once they’re cut into apple slices, just put them in a large mixing bowl with lemon juice, cinnamon, nutmeg, and raw honey. I mixed them by hand because honestly- it was less of a mess and easier. Once mixed, I greased the bottom of my glass pan, poured in the apple mixture, covered with foil, and stuck in the oven for 1 1/2 hours on 350. It smells like stinkin’ Cracker Barrel in my house. When they’re done, be sure to have a stick to beat your husband off. Take them out of the oven and let cool shortly. Pour into your blender, lightly puree, and then pour into a storage container and place in the fridge unless sealing. Here is where Trader Joe’s comes in handy again. Their jars are just the right size and perfect for my homemade applesauce. I love glass jars. How about you?

Emma's Almost Empty Jar!

Emma’s Almost Empty Jar!

*******************************************************************************************

Applesauce– Recipe revised from Perfectly Paleo by Kelly Smith

4 lbs apples, cored-peeled-sliced (we used organic)

2 tablespoons lemon juice (or substitute juice from REAL lemons)

½ cups raw honey

2 teaspoon ground cinnamon

½ teaspoon ground nutmeg

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees. After you fix your apples, mix them with the lemon juice, honey, cinnamon, and nutmeg. Smell that wonderful goodness! Place in a glass/ceramic baking dish. Cover and cook for 1 ½ hours. Once lightly cooled, blend with a whisk, food processor, or blender until smooth. Serve then or refrigerate for later.

 

Leave a Reply

