Embracing Everything Emma

Enjoying Life One Baby Step at a Time…

I’m a Reading Mommy May 21, 2013

I love to read. I’ve always been a reader and it was never a chore for me to read for school or anything else really. It’s been a hobby for awhile, however, I’ve learned over the past two years that reading is few and far between. Between my day job, cleaning, taking care of my family, and more, reading has hit the back burner. I wondered if I would ever read again and then I found something wonderful. Well, my husband found something wonderful. He bought me a refurbished kindle, case, and gift card for Christmas this past year for less than $50. I was certain that I would NEVER read on a kindle because I love hard-back books. I love books I can write in and underline. Today, I want to share with you some reasons why you should get a kindle, too!

Photo by Engadget

Photo by Engadget

**Please note that I am not an affiliate with Amazon/kindle or any other company to promote this product. I am simply writing a review for a product that I believe in 100%**

Reasons why you should get a kindle:

#1- You will never lose your book(s). I love this feature. All of your books are stored on your Amazon account and are available for any other kindle device you may have as well as storing your books in case something ever (God forbid!) happens to yours. It puts my mind at ease to know my books are now safe.

#2- You can carry around thirty books at once. Seriously. I throw my kindle in my purse and keep it with me at all times. I have about thirty different books on mine from topics including child birth to breastfeeding to cooking to blogging and more. I haven’t yet loaded my homemaking bundle yet but when I do, can imagine that amount of books I’ll have in my purse? It’s not even possible to comprehend. It definitely makes packing books for vacation a breeze. Kindle? Check.

#3- You can read your book multiply ways. I have access to my books on my kindle, my iPad, and my iPhone. If I’m ever away from my kindle, I have other ways to read. Keep in mind if you get PDF versions then you can also read them on your computer or print them out. That’s a good option for those who like hard back books.

#4- You save money. I know it’s a price up front but it pays off considering that the books are almost always cheaper and there are always free ones. I haven’t paid for one ebook cookbook that I’ve got on amazon for my kindle. They’ve all been free and they’re all whole foods based. I really like that I’ve been able to learn more about healthy eating for free. That’s a deal.

#5- Easy to use. It really is. I haven’t had JR teach me hardly anything on my kindle as I’ve learned the majority of it myself. The battery life is outstanding which makes it easy to use, too. I can charge it and carry it around for at least a month without a worry. Another feature I really like is the ability to search the table of contents, go to the most recent page, write notes, and more. It really is like having a hard copy right there with you but more than one at once.

So, what about you? Do you have a kindle or do you prefer to go old school?

 

3 Responses to “I’m a Reading Mommy”

  1. OLD SCHOOL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 🙂

  2. […] many of you know from my post about my kindle, you know I love to read. I really hadn’t read too much in the past few years […]

  3. […] many of you know from my post about my kindle, you know I love to read. I really hadn’t read too much in the past few years […]


Leave a Reply

