Embracing Everything Emma

Enjoying Life One Baby Step at a Time…

Jewelry- Fashion Friday Series May 24, 2013

friday

A huge part of fashion, and one that I greatly enjoy, is jewelry. I have always been a fan of it, even at an early age. I remember dressing up in costume jewelry as well as some of my mom’s older pieces. I do the same with Emma. Train them up! Anyways, today I wanted to share some of my favorite places to get jewelry. Join me!

Forever 21- this my absolute favorite place to buy jewelry, especially when I’m wanting it versus saving up for it. You can go in with $20 and come out with 10 or more new pieces. I love that. It is costume jewelry and some pieces are more than others but in my experience it holds up well and resells well, too, at yard sales and consignment sales. They have a lot of unique pieces so keep that in mind.

Premier Jewelry- as some of you know, I use to sell Premier Jewelry. I still have a quite a few of my premier pieces from when I sold and a few from having shows since then. It really holds up well and they have a great return policy, too. This jewelry is more expensive but it holds up better than costume jewelry, too. If you’re interested in having a show and getting some of their jewelry for FREE, let me know and I can get you in touch with my premier mom, Melissa. She’s awesome!

Boutiques- whenever we pass a little boutique, whether local or out of town, I stop. Sometimes the stuff is way too overpriced but sometimes it’s perfect! Mom and I went to a store when we were on vacation last year and found some really cute jewelry for buy one, get one half off. We were excited to say the least! I also like stores that are local, like Vagabond Traders in Abingdon. They sell one of my favorite brands, Good Works. A portion of what you pay is going to charitable donations. I really love that!

Thrift Stores- whether it be a thrift store we find or a goodwill, I love to go through the jewelry they have available. Sometimes there is nothing I like but other times, there are a TON of things! I have been known to get myself jewelry there but also jewelry for Emma. It makes great play jewelry and I don’t feel bad with it being $1 or less!

Hand-Me-Downs- these may fall into my top place to get them. Anytime my mom, grandmother, or other relative gifts me something of theirs, it’s something I hold near and dear to my heart. Knowing that someone else has loved me enough to share what is theirs and trusts me enough to keep it makes me smile. Some of my favorite pieces of jewelry are those that were given to me.

KateSpadeQuote

A few tips:

*Long earrings make your face look slimmer because it elongates it. True fact!

*Having bracelets on BOTH hands make you look slimmer, too!  They’re in your expressive zone so any attention drawer there helps.

*The recommended amount of worn accessories is 6 and you’ve gone too far if you reach 11 (this includes all jewelry and scarves).

*You can mix together long and short necklaces to add more to your outfit. This is one of my favorite tips!

What is YOUR favorite place to get jewelry? What is your favorite piece of jewelry?

 

Leave a Reply

